San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
GREAT BREAD... I MADE IT FOR A SCHOOL PROJECT ON FERMENTATION, AND I HAD TO GIVE A SAMPLE TO MY TEACHER... SHE LOVED IT AS WELL AS MY FAMILY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a light fluffy bread! Rating on taste and texture I give it 5 stars, but the directions were off a bit. I only added about 4 cups of flour because my dough felt about the right consistency at that point. I also had to reduce the cooking time dramatically to about 15 minutes. I ended up making a braided bread for a party sub, so I did not think the cooking time would be less. I even checked the temp about 5 times to make sure I did not make a mistake, but the temp was right, and my bread was done in 15 minutes. I also added fresh grated Parmesan to the top, not onion. I am making this bread for our next football party! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have made this bread twice now, and its wonderful. It always rises really well, and is never dense. I skip the egg wash and onions, and just rub butter on the top of the loaf when it comes out of the oven. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by JIMBUCKLAND
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum. Let your proof work a bit to get sour or add citric acid. I left the onions off - no need on a good bread. Egg wash is for presentation only. It adds a nice shine. Make sour dough many times until you get it right ~ it's worth it for a lifetime of good bread :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMBUCKLAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My bread wasn't very sour yet but that was becasue of my starter. This bread baked up beautifully! my husband questioned weather or not I bought it from our bread store. I will definitly keep this recipe and use it again once my starter is more mature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Scrumptious!! (even w/o the onion topping). I made it in the bread machine, so it wasn't as pretty, but it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
First, a reminder....sourdough sour taste depends on YOUR STARTER, not the bread recipe. Mine is only week old, still a baby. Another reminder....you need to let your starter get to room temp and to PROOF before using. I let mine sit proofing/fermenting for about 6-8 hours before using each time. Then start the bread recipe As for the bread.........yum! Followed the ingredients, except didn't have onions. Egg and water go together to make a wash, don't add to recipe. Used my stand mixer to stir and knead, made a round loaf and an oval loaf, slashed the top with a razor blade before the second rise, cornmeal sprinkled on parchment paper instead of oiled pan. Also put a pie pan, half full of water, on the bottom rack of the oven during baking. This should be put in during the preheat time to allow steam to build up. Started checking for doneness at about 25 mins. Loaf size can reduce/increase baking times Straight to cooling racks when taken out to prevent sogginess. Bread was wonderful!! Great texture, great crust. Can't wait to try it again as the starter matures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very good. Light and delicious. I added onions and garlic to the dough as well as on top of it. Made two loaves, gave one to friends and kept one for my husband and myself. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The first bread I have ever made but do I love it!! Only issue I had was I tried to cut it straight out of the oven and ended up with very dense slices of bread. Need to make sure they cool prior to cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My first try at making bread ever, much less sourdough bread, and it turned out extremely well! The onions are a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States