San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Best sourdough I have ever tried. I just use dried milk powder as a substitute and it works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Finally, a fluffy sour dough bread that is crisp on the outside!! I think my starter needs to get a little more established, but this is the fluffiest bread I've ever made. Through all the research I've done and the little practice I've had, I've learned that making the full amount of the recipe makes a huge difference. Trying to cut it in half did not work as well. The yeast needs to dissolve in warm water, but since this recipe doesn't include water, I just put it in a 1/4 cup of the warmed (100-110 degree) milk and added the rest after letting it dissolve for about ten minutes. And by spraying the oven with a spray bottle a few times while cooking and/or leaving a shallow pan with hot water on it, the steam helps the outside become crispy. I did use butter instead of egg on the outside, and omitted the onions on top. Very good!! And happy to finally not have one issue with the outcome of my bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I didn't make some changes - I didn't use dry yeast, just my starter which increased rising time. I used water instead of milk, and didn't add the onions or do the egg wash. The bread was very tasty with a nice texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This bread is delicious! The onion adds a great taste to the bread. The texture and crumb are wonderful. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Of course after I had this all mixed and rising I read all of the reviews. 6 cups of flour was entirely too much for my kind of starter. My starter is much more thick than the author's, and thus created a less liquid mix to begin adding flour. I will in the future only use 5 cups. Having said that, even after 45 minutes in the oven, the bread did not brown quickly, and though it did rise well for both risings, both loaves weighed a ton. The results were that my husband proclaimed it to be the best crust he'd ever eaten. So we traded, I gave him the crust and he gave me the unfortunately mushy center. The crust was, indeed good, very sweet and so close to the flavor I was looking for, but the center was very heavy and dense. So, as you are making this, consider the type of starter you have and adjust your flour accordingly. I will try again...this is a learning process and if at first you don't succeed, try again. Right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must say I was excited to try this recipe and am very disappointed! I make bread every other day for my family, and the DH has been bugging me to make a sourdough. I chose this one from the rating. I have always proofed my yeast but chose to forgo it and followed this recipes instructions. I was left with a dough that had little lumps of undissolved yeast and I believe the only reason it rose was because of my starter. I will try this recipe again, but will use my way and proof the yeast first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
used sauteed shallots ... rich and delish. with the egg wash i did not get a tough crust like one might expect with SF sourdough ... but it was a fabulous flavor and great sandwich bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Perfect sourdough on the first try! Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made these 2 ways at the same time to make small soup bowls in larger cupcake molds for TDay dinner. One batch I made with the modifications KendraSF suggested. One batch was made the way they've written but no onions. I consider myself an intermediate break maker and do it at least weekly if not more... Both mixed fairly easily but the modified one was a LOT tougher than the other; when they were left to rise, the modified batch rose round but bumpy and the other batch rose nice and soft looking. I had to put some in the fridge overnight and the nonmodifed batch sank a little. Both baked nicely and looked great with egg yolk - a nice touch (we noticed a couple that didn't get it and they weren't as pretty) and both sets tasted GREAT! For a soup bowl, the modified was much denser and held up better, but overall I'd say it's a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this with Sourdough Starter from this site, by Esther. I aged it only 7 days, so the dough could be a little more sour, but overall, a great bread! I made bread bowls for clam chowder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States