San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
very very good,better than my last sourdough recipe. i got 2 kind sour dough starter and it produce 2 similar but different result. but booth turn out really good and i'm please about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have made this a couple times now! This morning my husband, Who spent MANY years in Germany and LOVES his German style breads, told me this is the best bread he has eaten since he returned home from Germany many years ago! He is already asking me to start more! I made 1 loaf w/onions and 1 w/out and we love them both. Going to add MORE onions next time! Some people might say it is not "TRUE San Fracisco sourdough", Oh Well!!! It is still AMAZING! Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARIHARDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Outlook, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
We made this using whole wheat starter and substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour. Absolutely delicious! Light color and texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I tried this recipe and it turned out wonderfully! I've been making sourdough with (only) starter for about 10 months and it has been very good !- But this recipe has transformed it into a softer more mouth friendly loaf of bread!! I guess purists would say its a hybrid.. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larrisb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Nice and soft on the inside and a crispy crust. This had great flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
super yummy! A little less chewie than normal sour dough but I think I took it out early too. I like it less chewie and I didn't add the chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great bread! I'm more partial to whole wheat breads, but this is great for a once-in-a-while treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
After using this format, the recipe is very good with some modifications. First off, it should never be called SF Sourdough Bread for the same reasons as mentioned before, PLUS - I live in San Francisco, and we rarely see bread served with onion on top of sourdough. Other specialty breads, yes, but to us, that's corrupting the true SF style sourdough. It should simply be called "Onion-Topped Sourdough". Second, I HIGHLY recommend using water instead. Real SF Sourdough never has milk, and use can sugar and sea salt for improved flavor. The yeast is marginal, as it's not often used here. That's supposed to be why the starter is used, but it doesn't rise correctly unless you use 1 cup starter per loaf and extend the rise time out to 2-3 hours in a warm oven. Also use Unbleached flour for denser bread (more like SF). Next, use ONLY the egg white to lightly brush on top of the loaf right before baking, not with the yolk. Last, there's no mention in the recipe what to do with the last Tbsp of water. I'd omit that, as the egg white does not need water added. If you want closer to authentic SF Sourdough, don't use the onion. After those modifications, you'll have a great loaf! You're getting tips direct from a SF born and raised bread lover.. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was my first attempt at sourdough, very good. Nice buttery flavor with just the right sourness and hint of sweetness (which I love). Nice chewy crust as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was really good I think it was a little time consuming but well worth it. And I for one take pride in foods that take a little time to prepare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States