San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I have never tasted San Francisco bread so can't compare, just chose this recipe as I had an immature starter and wanted to do something with the waste - It turned out gorgeous, absolutely perfect! I used the egg wash and red onion on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Came out awesome the whole family loved it but I did add some garlic on top mixed with the onions evened it out I think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
When our local bakery closed leaving me with the only option of driving 45 minutes to get my Sourdough Bread fix, I started searching for recipes. I came across this one and wanted to give it a try. So after growing Sourdough Starter for a week I made this bread today... it was a HIT! I had several friends try it and they all loved it. Cudos to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fantastic! I found I actually like it more using half bread flour and half AP flour. We don't use the onions on top, but that's personal preference. Everyone who has tasted this bread loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Having grown up there, I love San Francisco Sourdough. I've tried every starter there is, and so far yours is the best. It has been suggested to me that in order to produce the flavor of real San Francisco sourdough, I cannot use just any old yeast, I must use the yeasts that are grown native to the SF Bay Area. I will order some SF yeast ($6.95/oz online--OUCH!), and hope that my starter never sours and needs replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamelascakes
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Ok so i made this twice. first time just the same as the recipe and it was great! second time i decided to play a bit....added tsp. kosher salt.. tbs. garlic powder....1 cup shredded chedder cheese..and chopped pepperoni. AWSOME!!!!! I also create a proof box in my oven by warming it on the lowest setting(170degees) then turn it off and add a sauce pot with boiling water. Let it get all steamy and add your dough. Remove pot before baking but the steam that's left will give your bread a super crust!!! Promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I have a very established starter and I added some citric acid (1/8 tsp per cup of flour) to give it a more sour taste. I didn't use as much flour but this is dependent on a lot of factors. You just have to add water until you have the right consistency. This recipe was absolutely wonderful!!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
We love this bread. I have made it five or six times and gotten great results. It does have a fairly mild sourdough flavor, I think because of the short rising time; I have also gotten milder/stronger results depending on how active my starter was at the time. I want to try omitting the yeast packet and letting it rise overnight for a more "traditional" sourdough, but I haven't yet because it's so good the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Best sourdough I have ever tried. I just use dried milk powder as a substitute and it works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Finally, a fluffy sour dough bread that is crisp on the outside!! I think my starter needs to get a little more established, but this is the fluffiest bread I've ever made. Through all the research I've done and the little practice I've had, I've learned that making the full amount of the recipe makes a huge difference. Trying to cut it in half did not work as well. The yeast needs to dissolve in warm water, but since this recipe doesn't include water, I just put it in a 1/4 cup of the warmed (100-110 degree) milk and added the rest after letting it dissolve for about ten minutes. And by spraying the oven with a spray bottle a few times while cooking and/or leaving a shallow pan with hot water on it, the steam helps the outside become crispy. I did use butter instead of egg on the outside, and omitted the onions on top. Very good!! And happy to finally not have one issue with the outcome of my bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States