San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by KuTisM
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
For what it is, with an added commercial yeast, it's a nice sandwich bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KuTisM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I like it. Soooooooooo! GoooooooooooD! Our dog got a hold of it while we were gone and ate 1/2 of a loaf, so she liked it to. It was wrap and setting on the counter top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this several times and it is amazing. It slices well for sandwiches or toast, and it tastes great every time. I did not have luck using the dough setting on the bread machine, guess it does have to be hand-kneaded, but it's actually pretty fun. I used the "Sourdough Starter II" recipe from this website for the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is my husband's favorite bread! It took a couple months to really get our starter to the point of a strong sour dough flavor, but in the mean time I made everything with this bread recipe - even my cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I found this recipe to be very tasty. It had a good texture. I was worried about trying to make it here in Georgia because the atmosphere (humidity and the like) is so different from San Fran. But it was really, really good. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I used Sourdough Starter from Esther Nelson (wonderful) but had to add more flour as I kneaded the dough (summertime in Florida). I shaped the dough into rolls but when I brushed them with egg white, they deflated!?! Not very pretty but very good flavor! (omitted onion this time but will use next)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I just moved to San Francisco Bay area so I thought this would be sort of a Christening for me. I too used slightly deviated ingredients to my liking, but my dough didn't rise as well even though I did use a 2 day old starter, maybe that wasn't long enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this bread 2 days ago. I followed the recipe to a T when it comes to contents, though I put the bread loaves into 2 bread tins simply because I like the shape. Also, I always leave an extra hour when making bread as I like to have one extra rise, it makes the bread even, light and fluffy. I also spray the oven walls right before and twice during baking with cool water underneath the wire rack. It makes for a crispy crust. These loaves came out wonderful, light, fluffy, and with just the right sourness to them. One thing I regret is having put onion on both as it would have been nice to use one as breakfast toast with preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome bread! I omitted the onions on top though and they turned out not only delicious but also beautiful! I will be making this in mini versions during the winter months to make mini chili bowls! I will be using this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Roberts Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this recipe a couple of times and the second time I used one cup of 50/50 wheat flour and put kosher salt on the top after the egg wash. It was spectacular! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States