San Antonio Chicken Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This recipe was amazing! We have 5 children from 9 - 3 and they all liked it. We did two things a bit different. First we used Jalapeno/Monteray Jack cheese in the middle instead of a jalapeno, because of the kids. Second, we wrapped two or three pieces of bacon, two wrapped the length and one wrapped around the middle to make sure the cheese wouldn't all come out. It worked really well on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I cooked my bacon half way and used it to keep the cheese and peppers inside the chicken using toothpicks. I will make this again, but I don't think I will ever cook on the grill because of the other reviewers problems with the bacon grease smoking up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I used greek seasoning instead and also wrapped the bacon around in both directions so that it sealed everything in like a pouch. It cooked perfectly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I am the one who took the picture here. I added portabello mushrooms in with the jalaopeno's and jack cheese. Grilled them on the BBQ and they turned out awesome. Perfect hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This chicken is great! The only thing I changed is that I used canned whole Hatch chiles and pepper jack cheese. And I used the chiles and monterey jack for the kids. I serve with tomalito from this websight and spanish rice. It is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These were really good. I did bake them instead of grilling. I put them on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 35 minutes. They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Husband loved this dish and said he would pay for it in a restaurant. Will try to make again but it was a bit of a pain to roll and grill. I used provolone cheese and banana peppers because that's all we had in house and it tasted great. I used way more bacon then reccommended because I didn't feel it would keep the cheese in. The grill did flare up because of the grease but I just kept watching and moving and it was fine! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I tried a version of these tonite and they were awesome. My brother in law made them. He took a bite size piece of chicken and placed a jalapeño slice on top and placed a piece of pepper jack cheese on top of that and then wrapped it all in bacon and then put into the grill. They were awesome. Will be making them myself and also trying by rolling up the chicken too. Great 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this tonight for my husband and some guests. I had never made this before but knew that I would love it. I was surprise that EVERYONE loved this. As a matter of fact, my husband said it was the best "Chicken Cordon Bleu" I had ever made. Basically, made it the same as was directed with some modifications. Instead of stuffing it with Pepper Jack cheese, I stuffed it with "Queso Fresco" because it melts without oozing out while cooking. But in order to incorporate the Pepper Jack's robust flavor, I made a sauce that I spooned over the chicken and broccoli. My husband said it is a keeper and asked if he could take same for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These are really good. To make it easier I use sticks of string cheese instead of the monteray jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States