San Antonio Chicken Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These were really good. I did bake them instead of grilling. I put them on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 35 minutes. They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
Great recipe. I cut up the bacon and cooked it crisp, and rolled it inside with the cheese instead of on the outside, and baked it in the oven. My husband said it's a hit- especially good with a ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This recipe was amazing! We have 5 children from 9 - 3 and they all liked it. We did two things a bit different. First we used Jalapeno/Monteray Jack cheese in the middle instead of a jalapeno, because of the kids. Second, we wrapped two or three pieces of bacon, two wrapped the length and one wrapped around the middle to make sure the cheese wouldn't all come out. It worked really well on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I give it four stars my husband really liked it and my son loved everything but the cheese. It was a bit salty with the turkey bacon to me and I don't really like salt. So next time I will skip the bacon for me and add more jalapeno. (I didn't use as much as the recipe said to and I should had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was different but good. I'll make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I cooked my bacon half way and used it to keep the cheese and peppers inside the chicken using toothpicks. I will make this again, but I don't think I will ever cook on the grill because of the other reviewers problems with the bacon grease smoking up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were delicious, but not easy to make! The rolling process sounded easy, but my cheese crumbled and was hard to keep in. The bacon helped a little, but still hard to wrap tightly. I lost most of my cheese during the grilling. That said, it was delicious and I'll try it again, next time I'll cut the skewers in half and use a softer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is good, I'll try it again.After reading the previous review I cooked them in the oven and served them w/ ranch dressing, next time I'll grill them. They're kind of hard to roll up. If they're not better on the grill I won't keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I also baked these and they are incredible. I did use chicken thighs and cream cheese in the peppers instead and tastes delicious. The flavors just all blend so well. I did kick it up a notch on the seasonings with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and some italian herbs. WILL MAKE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this tonight for my husband and some guests. I had never made this before but knew that I would love it. I was surprise that EVERYONE loved this. As a matter of fact, my husband said it was the best "Chicken Cordon Bleu" I had ever made. Basically, made it the same as was directed with some modifications. Instead of stuffing it with Pepper Jack cheese, I stuffed it with "Queso Fresco" because it melts without oozing out while cooking. But in order to incorporate the Pepper Jack's robust flavor, I made a sauce that I spooned over the chicken and broccoli. My husband said it is a keeper and asked if he could take same for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States