San Antonio Chicken Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
Great recipe. I cut up the bacon and cooked it crisp, and rolled it inside with the cheese instead of on the outside, and baked it in the oven. My husband said it's a hit- especially good with a ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is good, I'll try it again.After reading the previous review I cooked them in the oven and served them w/ ranch dressing, next time I'll grill them. They're kind of hard to roll up. If they're not better on the grill I won't keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
lots of flavor, quite impressive for the simple ingredients. the grease from the bacon creates a flame show on the grill, but it makes it nice and crispy. i used fresh jalepeno peppers, but since they don't roll very easily, i would lay them across the cheese, instead of beside it. nice and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This recipe was amazing! We have 5 children from 9 - 3 and they all liked it. We did two things a bit different. First we used Jalapeno/Monteray Jack cheese in the middle instead of a jalapeno, because of the kids. Second, we wrapped two or three pieces of bacon, two wrapped the length and one wrapped around the middle to make sure the cheese wouldn't all come out. It worked really well on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was pretty good. Kind of a pain to make, and the bacon really smoked out the neighborhood. I think I will try pepper jack cheese next time instead of cheese and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were delicious, but not easy to make! The rolling process sounded easy, but my cheese crumbled and was hard to keep in. The bacon helped a little, but still hard to wrap tightly. I lost most of my cheese during the grilling. That said, it was delicious and I'll try it again, next time I'll cut the skewers in half and use a softer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I am the one who took the picture here. I added portabello mushrooms in with the jalaopeno's and jack cheese. Grilled them on the BBQ and they turned out awesome. Perfect hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I cooked my bacon half way and used it to keep the cheese and peppers inside the chicken using toothpicks. I will make this again, but I don't think I will ever cook on the grill because of the other reviewers problems with the bacon grease smoking up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was different but good. I'll make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is a great combination. I stuffed chicken breast with bacon and monterey jack cheese then put it on Gorge Forman grill. It turned out very moist. Topped in with ranch dressing. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States