San Antonio Chicken Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Husband loved this dish and said he would pay for it in a restaurant. Will try to make again but it was a bit of a pain to roll and grill. I used provolone cheese and banana peppers because that's all we had in house and it tasted great. I used way more bacon then reccommended because I didn't feel it would keep the cheese in. The grill did flare up because of the grease but I just kept watching and moving and it was fine! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These were really good. I did bake them instead of grilling. I put them on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 35 minutes. They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
These were good but a bit to spicy for me. I am a bit of a wimpy when it comes to spice but my family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This chicken is great! The only thing I changed is that I used canned whole Hatch chiles and pepper jack cheese. And I used the chiles and monterey jack for the kids. I serve with tomalito from this websight and spanish rice. It is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I used greek seasoning instead and also wrapped the bacon around in both directions so that it sealed everything in like a pouch. It cooked perfectly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is a great combination. I stuffed chicken breast with bacon and monterey jack cheese then put it on Gorge Forman grill. It turned out very moist. Topped in with ranch dressing. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was different but good. I'll make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I cooked my bacon half way and used it to keep the cheese and peppers inside the chicken using toothpicks. I will make this again, but I don't think I will ever cook on the grill because of the other reviewers problems with the bacon grease smoking up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I am the one who took the picture here. I added portabello mushrooms in with the jalaopeno's and jack cheese. Grilled them on the BBQ and they turned out awesome. Perfect hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were delicious, but not easy to make! The rolling process sounded easy, but my cheese crumbled and was hard to keep in. The bacon helped a little, but still hard to wrap tightly. I lost most of my cheese during the grilling. That said, it was delicious and I'll try it again, next time I'll cut the skewers in half and use a softer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States