Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This cake is the best I have ever had, you have got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
was an awesome cake...it seemed to get better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Wonderful, easy to make carrot cake. Didn't change a thing in the recipe, but added Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I substituted Apple sauce for the oil and it turned out rubbery but great taste, so I will make it again with oil and then rate it. Well, looks like I had to rate it to write this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Definitely the best carrot cake I have ever had or made for that matter. They were so good I absolutely had to share with friends, family, and coworkers. Everyone said the same thing, best carrot cake ever! Seriously addictive. Didn't change a thing about it, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa June

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I followed this recipe and the only thing I changed was using gluten free flour blend in place of regular flour. This carrot cake is such a hit that its a regular staple on the dessert menu at my restaurant. people think that gluten free is hard to do, but this recipe give a moist delicious cake. It does not rise super high, so I bake it in a 12x19 cookie sheet with rounded sides. when the cake has cooled I add the frosting, cut it in half and double stack it, giving it a thick look. customers who do not have gluten issues love this cake as well. It stays moist and does well even if you decide to portion and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
For all the exciting ingredients, it turned out sorta bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This cake was wonderful. I was a little nervous after reading the reviews in which people said the cake didn't turn out despite following the directions exactly, but I followed the recipe as much to the letter as I could. One thing I had to change was that I used pecans instead of walnuts. I used a food processor to chop them really finely (that was kind of an accident). The next thing was that I accidentally dumped all of a 20-oz can of crushed pineapple into the liquid mix before realizing that I should have used 8 oz, so I tried to take out a little more than half of that (a good deal of guesswork there). Finally, I used a 7x12 (or 7x11, I don't remember) glass pan instead of an 8x12 pan, so I also made cupcakes. I put the cake and cupcakes in about the same time. The cupcakes were done after about 30 minutes, the cake after about 50 minutes (total). I then used a cream cheese frosting. Super tasty. I didn't think I liked carrot cake much, but this was really delicious! (And Fiancé, who *does* like carrot cake, also really loved this cake. I made it for his birthday.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Love this carrot cake recipe. I just omitted the raisins and added more walnuts,coconut and made my buttermilk with lemon juice and whole milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States