Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed exact recipe, didn't have too much flavor despite all the ingredients and ended up falling apart as it came out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I hate to say it, but this recipe is so much better then my cc that I have been making for 45 years. I have made twice now once exactly as written the second time I used golden raisins that I plump up it warm water. The second time I didn't have buttermilk and the buttermilk is a must. could tell the difference. Golden raisins were much tastier. I also used a 9x13 pan and cooked for 40-45 mins. used a cream cheese icing and had a cake that was addicting. My husband ate almost the whole cake in two days ( I helped a little, lol) Give this a try you will enjoy immensely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Sounds like the ultimate carrot cake recipe on the back of a Betty Crocker cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is very similar to mine, except my cake has 2 cups sugar, and 1 cup drained crushed pineapple, and no raisins (although raisins sound like a good addition). My recipe has the following glaze that is poured over the cake when it comes out of the oven: Combine the following ingredients in a 3 or 4 qt. pot -- 1 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 cup buttermilk, 1 cube butter, and 1 tsp. white corn syrup. Bring this mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and boil for 5 minutes. Keep stirring. Remove from heat and stir in 1 tsp. vanilla. Pour over hot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ive been making this particular carrot cake now for yrs..by combining 2 of my fav. recipes and making them into one it truly gives you the ultimate carrot cake.. its no wonder your grandfather received such rave reviews. its a shame i have to limit myself to making it just once a yr.. (Easter). otherwise id be eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner. lol..Happy Easter Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Mine was cooked perfectly at 45 mins! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My husbands favorite is carrot cake, so I am always looking for a great one to try. He loved the fruit bits and it was really moist. The only thing I changed was omitting the walnuts.(He doesn't like those in his carrot cake) I think next time I might use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil only because it's healthier. I always try to make the recipes the same the first go round before I change anything. I'd make it again. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from the Awesome Carrot Cake with cream cheese frosting found on Allrecipes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Excellent carrot cake. The only modification that I did was to add fresh grated coconut. I live in the Caribbean and dislike store bought coconut flakes. Instead I went outside and got 2 coconuts and grated them and cooked it down with 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup sugar for about 15 minutes. I added 1/4 tsp groung nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. This cake was moist and very delicious. I took it to work and even collegues that do not like carrot cake gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made dozens of this recipe. Only change is to increase cinnamon by 1 tsp and make ahead and freeze layers. Wow, what a difference. An amazing recipe. Thanks Mr. Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Totally awesome. moist, rich, flavourful. Even though the ingredients blended beautifully, we could taste the individual flavours. No hesitation giving this a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States