Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
YUM! My mom asked me to make carrot cake for her Bday. I wanted to make a completely from scratch cake similar to my grandmother's recipe and finally decided upon this one because of it's similarity to hers. While I thought this was VERY good, I do think I'll cut back on the carrots, fruit and nuts next time. I will also sub chopped pecans for walnuts (since I was making this to share, I went with the traditional walnut but actually prefer the taste of pecans). I really wanted to taste the cake itself, but there was just too much going on with each mouthful. Cutting the carrots, coconut and nuts by half and the raisins to a quarter cup would be much more to my liking. As I did this time, I'll continue to add 1/2 t ground nutmeg and 1/4 t ground cloves (I felt this needed a little more than just cinnamon). Since I do not own the pan size called for, I baked this in a 9 x 13 in. baking dish and reduced the total baking time to 45 minutes which worked great for me. All in all, this was quite tasty, especially when frosted with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with toasted coconut! Too bad my carrot cake-hating husband missed out.... My parents and I thought this was the BOMB. :) Thanks for sharing your granddaddy's famous recipe, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING! I was worried that the all the different add-ins would give too many flavors, but it was PERFECT! The pineapple especially made it moist and chewy even after being in the fridge all night. It looked awful when it came out of the oven, I thought it was overbaked, but I guess that's just the outer layer cause the rest is sooooooo so so so good. I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have baked this at least a couple of times. Frosted, unfrosted, round cake, square cake, 9 X 13 cake, cupcake. We have eaten it freshly baked, and frozen some and ate them after a couple of weeks. It was always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This cake is awesome!I almost followed recipe, only boiled the raisins in OJ as suggested by others and it was delicious!! Thanks for the recipe Brian.Used cream cheese frosting II very delicious,not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kisskiss06172
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I loved this cake. Made it for Easter I also made some cream cheese frosting. Cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was so good! With just a few minor changes (added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a dash of nutmeg) this recipe has become one of my favorites to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wonderful carrot cake. Extremely moist and flavorful. I followed this exactly as written, except due to preference I left out the nuts. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, and it was perfect. Thanks Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
35 minute bake time when using 2 9" round cake pans and it was more than done!! I omitted the coconut (daughter doesn't like) and added a total of 3 cups of minced carrot. Although the cake is delicious as made, for those who prefer a bit less of a textured cake you might want to skip the walnuts and/or raisins. Also, I never add more than 1/4 cup of oil to any recipe, this recipe called for 3/4 cup (yuck)...I subbed 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce and it was divine! Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site was perfect on this cake. Moister as of day #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe! The only thing missing is a little extra spice...maybe a little more cinnamon or some nutmeg. But overall it is very good and moist and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this carrot cake for Easter. Believe the reviews. It is divine! Checked cake about 40 minutes in because I thought 1 hour at the same temperature might dry it out. Lowered over to 325. It turned out perfectly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States