Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have made this cake several times with white frosting and it is a favorite with everyone young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
the best!!!! didn't add raisins or walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made a few different versions of carrot cake, but this, combined with the cream cheese icing II on this website, is simply to-die-for. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added a pinch of cloves and about about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg to make is spicier. Otherwise followed the recipe and it is fantastic. This will become my only carrot cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The BEST recipe! Thanks for sharing your grandfather's recipe, Brian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Baked this cake at a recent party and it was finished within minutes. Next time i'll have to bake a couple dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good but rich.I cut the oil to half cup and added applesauce to replace,also left out coconut and that's personal preference,*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. No need for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This five star rating is for the cake as written in the recipe, and for being so customizable! I've tried many different carrot cake recipes, and this one is my favorite. When intended for guests or my husband and son, I follow the directions exactly and it always comes out perfect. Sometimes, I omit the pineapple or coconut according to their tastes. With or without frosting, it always gets rave reviews! When I make this cake for myself, I make changes due to dietary preferences. I halve the recipe and substitute half the oil for applesauce, use whole wheat flour, reduce the sugar to 100 g (half a cup), 50 g of which is muscovado and omit the pineapple. Sometimes I add orange zest, or use plain yogurt if I have no buttermilk. I bake in an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2" loaf pan for 45 - 50 mins. This cake, as it is according to the recipe or with customizations, is the absolute best. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The best carrot cake by far! I didn't add the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) but the cake was still fantastic! Everyone loves, loves, loves this recipe! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Willz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Amazing! I only bake it for 43 minutes, and it comes out perfect! I skip the coconut, simply because I don't care for it. Frost it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II! This is my favorite cake in the whole world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States