Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The best carrot cake by far! I didn't add the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) but the cake was still fantastic! Everyone loves, loves, loves this recipe! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Willz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Amazing! I only bake it for 43 minutes, and it comes out perfect! I skip the coconut, simply because I don't care for it. Frost it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II! This is my favorite cake in the whole world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
delicious, i love carrot cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
OMG!!!! I've had some good a$$ carrot cake before but this right here. Perfection!!! I'm talking eyes rolling to the back of your head knee buckling satisfaction with every bite. These rave reviews are redundant and here is another one to add to the collection. I cook a lot and tried several recipes from this site but after trying this one I had to write my first review. This is the first and last carrot cake recipe I'll ever try. Modifications included baking in 2-9 inch pans and 4 cupcakes for 35 mins. Added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, ginger, and allspice and used cream cheese II recipe from site. The raisins were omitted from the cake due to my family's preference but for the 4 cupcakes I added raisins (boiled in OJ then drained). Both were amazing however I liked the cupcakes better because I like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi McAloon
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was the first Carrot cake I have made from scratch. My husband is a huge fan of carrot cake and he asked for one for his birthday. I had a high standard to live up to and he absolutely lived it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi McAloon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I usually use the Carrot Cake III recipe but had a yearning to try something different. I did add 2tsp of baking soda to this recipe because I was afraid of it being very heavy and I wanted two layers. I substituted a 12oz jar of Smucker's Pineapple Sundae Topping instead of the crushed pineapple and holy cow that was the best thing ever done to a Carrot Cake, in the history of Carrot Cakes. Omitted raisins and coconut and instead of cinnamon I used 2tsp Badia Five Spice which just brings it all together. I will definitely use this recipe in the future for my base recipe I just have to add my tweaks and the sundae topping has go to be my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BitchinKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I'm a pretty tough critic. But was very impressed with this GREAT and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Other than adding a little bit of ground cloves, I make this recipe exactly as written. It is wonderful! Also, I buy off brand ingredients and the last time I served this cake, a guest was saying that it taste so good b/c he knows I use good quality ingredients. Well, good quality but inexpensive from Aldi's, lol. Some of the reviews say that they soaked the raisins in orange juice or other things. But if you try this cake as written, I can't imagine that it could get any better. Top it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site and its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious! I didn't change one thing about this recipe, superb flavor & texture. Took this cake to a family gathering & everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eg11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I usually don't like to review a recipe and then change the whole thing, but I did! We don't eat coconut, nor nuts, so then I had some fresh zuchinini slices, maybe 1/4 cup, so I threw them in! My newest thing is adding 2 tbsp of Vanilla instant pudding mix into the mixture before you cook it. I have never had so many raves about a cake! I could hardly control my self from nibbling on it. I'm making it again, but this time I'm insisting that my daughter take it home because this cake could be addicting. The pudding adds some flavor, but Ohhhh the moisture is outstanding! I did this vanilla custard to a pound cake and to chocolate chip cookies. Guess it's my new favorite ingredient! Yep, I know it adds calories and sugar, but hey! as long as I've gone this far, what the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States