Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Aileen
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Soft, moist carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Wonderfully moist! This is just the best carrot cake ever. The only changes I made were to the buttermilk and the raisins. I used golden delicious raisins. I love them. Also, I used milk and lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I may have gone a little overboard on measuring the nuts, coconut, and raisins. I ended up with extra cake that would not fit in the pans. So I had enough to 1/2 fill a bread pan. When a friend unexpectedly stopped over, I had a little gift to give her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have made this cake several times. I LOVE this cake! I make it exactly according to the recipe, except I omit the raisins (I'm not a fan of raisins). It couldn't be more perfect. Thanks for sharing this great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I am baking this following the recipe EXACTLY.. I loathe 'cooks' that make 27 changes to a recipe just so they can get their 'expert' opinion into a comment. If you already KNOW how to make the recipe then why look on here!?!? Put your own 'perfect recipe' on here, stop making changes to others! Now that being said, I am a 'cooker' (my 10 yrs old says) Not a baker, so Idid these as cupcakes as a trial run.. they taste good to us! I confess I used a can of cream cheese frosting! (Im not THAT good at baking!) Very nice! Now if only I knew how to do the little carrot design on top! Thanks for the clear directions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Thank you so much for posting it & for the reviews. I made this for my mother's birthday today, and everyone loved it! I used the suggestions too; 1tbsp lemon juice added to 3/4 cup of milk (instead of buttermilk), added 1/2tsp ground ginger & 1/2tsp nutmeg (in addition to the 2Tbsp of cinnamon) and increased grated carrot by 1/2 cup. Cooked for 35 minutes in two 9" round cake pans @ 350'. Test at 30 minutes with a cake tester! This is a hearty & very moist carrot cake, full of flavour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
It turned out very moist and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this for Easter and oh my was I surprised how amazing this was! Everyone loved it! Will certainly be making again. Hands down best carrot cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Caron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
this was fantastic- one of those "everything but the kitchen sink" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
So I have been trying to make a carrot cake for a long time but my hubby and daughter keep talking me out of it cus they say they don't like carrot cake. I finally made this for Easter and OMG it was so so so good! My hubby and daughter LOVE LOVE this cake. I used a cream cheese frosting from this site (another thing my hubby "doesn't like") and they LOVED that as well. I will for make this cake again and again! I'm not a sweet eater but loved this cake cus it's not too sweet. I'm so glad I found a carrot cake recipe that my family really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
i think its very good and when i make it people ask me what bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frederic Gropp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States