Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Delicious for sure...no doubt about it. I chopped up the carrots a little more and next time I will chop the walnuts up a little smaller and add additional pineapple. * I put the raisins in a small sauce pan and boiled for 10 minutes on low with a little bit of maple syrup and orange juice to plump them up...I will also chop them up a little next time for consistency's sake. I used the Lemon Cream Cheese icing for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I left out the raisins and it didnt need an hour. I took it out at 50 minutes. next time I would think about using half brown sugar. its good. I kinda like it better without any frosting... it makes it too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uhmanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
everyone loved it followed it to the t.... soooo perfect.. thank you Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reseda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!! I used 3 cups of shredded carrots, some fresh grated nutmeg, a pinch of ginger powder, and some lemon zest. I omitted the raisins because I'm not a fan. Thanks so much for a great recipe. I also made a cream cheese frosting using a recipe from this site. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I didn't change a thing, and thought the cake turned out great. It was my first ever carrot cake from scratch, and I found it to be surprisingly easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Hands down best carrot cake I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely perfect! I've made this many times, exactly as instructed. Well, except I make it in two circular pans and frost layers with a cream cheese frosting. It's our family favourite! Just plain excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Best carrot cake recipe I've found! Super moist and delightful with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I must try this again , as the first time I made it I wanted to make more so I tripled the ingredients and somewhere along the line it ended being a complete flop ! i was so disappointed as I wasted so much. I will try it again but only to follow it exactly. I don't mind bits and pieces of nuts and such. I see that most of the folks that made this cake did good by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowenmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was perfect!Based on other reviews I added 2 cups powdered confectioners sugar, 1/4 tsp nutmeg (could have added more maybe 1/2, 3 tsp cinnamon and 3 tsp vanilla. I'm not too fond of raisins so reduced them to 1/2 cup and soaked them in orange juice for 1/2 hour before adding. I used pecans instead of walnuts. Overall, just the carrot cake I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States