Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I don't like carrot cake (except for the cream cheese frosting - I usually scrape off the frosting and throw away the cake), but this was actually pretty good. A friend requested a carrot cake for his birthday so I selected this recipe and everyone raved about it. I made them into cupcakes (24) and made half with raisins and half without. I also ground the walnuts a little smaller because I also don't like walnuts in carrot cake. Anyway, everyone loved the cupcakes and I actually ate one as well (and enjoyed it). I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nawal
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have made this fab recipe a number of times. There was not much that I had to do to improve or change it. But I did substitute golden raisins for regular raisins. Made it in two layers, & used the frosting from one of my favorite cream cheese frosting's. Thsi recipe is the best Carrot cake I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've made this cake a couple of years in a row for Easter. This past year a lady wanted to pay me to make her this cake (I declined but made her the cake anyway). I do not use raisins and instead of vegetable oil I use extra light virgin olive oil. I put it in a bundt pan and drizzle a simple cream cheese glaze over it. It is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackielyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It was good, but a little too "fruity" for me. Very moist & dense. I topped it with a whipped cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This recipe is amazing as is written. My only change was to soak the rasins in spiced rum until the were swollen the dump rasins an rum into batter. I also used the cream cheese frosting II as others did. I have made this recipe so many times layer cakes, cupcakes and sheet cakes it is always the first one one and the one everyone requests i bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have made this cake several times and it comes out perfectly every time! (I make the recipe as is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I substituted unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 of the oil, reduced the total amount of sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I increased the cinnamon to 3 tsp, added cloves and nutmeg. My family are not fans of frosting, so I used the buttermilk glaze also available on this site under 'Grandma's Carrot Cake'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Only change I made was 1/2 tsp salt instead of 1/4. Baked in three 8"pans and frosted with the Cream Cheese Frosting from the Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting recipe. This is now MY CARROT CAKE RECIPE. Thanks Sam :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Excellent! Omitted coconut added an extra cup of carrots. Baked in 2 layer pans for 40 min. Used icing: 4 c. Powdered sugar, 1 stick butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 2 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States