Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this and my husband loves it. He's had many carrot cakes, since carrot cake is his favorite and he said this is the best he's had. I now make this every year for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I was looking for a perfect carrot cake recipe, and came across this one... It seemed pretty simple and straight to the point, so I gave it a try, and I am so glad I did!!! This carrot cake is SO Delicious!!! I followed the recipe as showed, not changing or omitting anything and WOW!!! All I have to say is that, whenever my family or friends have a party or event, they ask me to make this carrot cake... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have made this cake several times with white frosting and it is a favorite with everyone young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
the best!!!! didn't add raisins or walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made a few different versions of carrot cake, but this, combined with the cream cheese icing II on this website, is simply to-die-for. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added a pinch of cloves and about about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg to make is spicier. Otherwise followed the recipe and it is fantastic. This will become my only carrot cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The BEST recipe! Thanks for sharing your grandfather's recipe, Brian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Baked this cake at a recent party and it was finished within minutes. Next time i'll have to bake a couple dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good but rich.I cut the oil to half cup and added applesauce to replace,also left out coconut and that's personal preference,*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. No need for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This five star rating is for the cake as written in the recipe, and for being so customizable! I've tried many different carrot cake recipes, and this one is my favorite. When intended for guests or my husband and son, I follow the directions exactly and it always comes out perfect. Sometimes, I omit the pineapple or coconut according to their tastes. With or without frosting, it always gets rave reviews! When I make this cake for myself, I make changes due to dietary preferences. I halve the recipe and substitute half the oil for applesauce, use whole wheat flour, reduce the sugar to 100 g (half a cup), 50 g of which is muscovado and omit the pineapple. Sometimes I add orange zest, or use plain yogurt if I have no buttermilk. I bake in an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2" loaf pan for 45 - 50 mins. This cake, as it is according to the recipe or with customizations, is the absolute best. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States