Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Exceptionally good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was my first cake from scratch and it turned out perfect. I loved the coconut flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been hanging around All Recipes for a long, long time now. So many great recipes, so many wonderful tips from everyone to make them even better! I really feel like I know a lot of the contributors! I FINALLY JOINED myself, just to rate this recipe! I did a half version (10 servings) just to try it out. I used a combo of walnuts/pecans and in place of the buttermilk, used milk with about a 1 tsp vinegar. I chose to bake it in a 6 jumbo muffin pan (new size pan for me...love it) and also got 1 mini-loaf. I baked them about 23 minutes , and they came out perfect! I will make a cream cheese frosting later, but I was so desparate to have one like that, that I put some whipped cream cheese on top and sprinked with a good dose of confectioners sugar! Unbelieveably delicious cake! Thanks, Brian, for sharing your grandfather's recipe. It is sure a winner, like I'm sure he was, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
In a word? Phenomenal!!!! Served this to a group of 60 people and many begged for the recipe saying it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. Made exactly as written except for the walnuts, which I didn't have on hand. Many thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This cake was so good. I followed the recipe as written except for the raisins. It was very moist like a tres leches cake. I made it in 2 round pans and used the cream cheese II frosting from this site. I added pineapple juice to the frosting and it was fantastic. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Atilano Mattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe. I use melted coconut oil added last & mixed in well rather than veg oil, and I have substituted gluten-free flour occasionally with no problems to the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The BEST carrot cake in the world!! Used this recipe many times with rave reviews! I just don't add raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I brought this to a party and people said it was the best carrot cake they ever had. I didn't have buttermilk, so I substituted almond mild with a little lemon juice. This is the kind of cake that you can't stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
i cant say enough about this recipe...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This cake is AMAZING! I always get great compliments. Follow the recipe exactly and you will not be disappointed. I have ommited the raisens or nuts a time or two due to dietary restrictions of those I have made it for and it turns out great no matter what. I even make it in one bowl instead of the three suggested and it comes out the same just follow the directions for the wet ingredients first, then the dry, followed by the chunky bits. Oh and I use golden raisens instead of regular as they are less overwhelming. Great cake. I will never use another carrot cake recipe this is the ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States