Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is one of the best Carrot Cake I have made and eaten. I subsituted currants for raisins. I have had many compliments on it. For the cream cheese frosting, I used Orange Flavor in place of Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Anyone who has tasted this recipe says it is the best they have ever tasted!!! Five Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What do you do when you have left over vanilla ice cream sitting in your fridge?? I took up this recepie and read through all of the reviews and there was nothing that was stopping me from making it, and the end result, the sweet aroma of the ingredients blended together in a perfect harmony pulled in more people into my kitchen to get a taste of this amazing cake and what do you know!!! It tasted like heaven!! of course I sprinkled powdered cinnamon and sugar on top of the warm cake and served it with a dollop of ice cream... It's finger licking good!! Thanks for sharing the recipe and for all the reviews. I'm making more of this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This has become a favorite in our house; my husband requests this cake every year for his birthday. I make this into cupcakes and bake for 20 minutes at 350. Not everyone in my family likes coconut and raisins so I make a few cupcakes without those two items and then add them in before making the rest and it makes everyone happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cake is simply awesome! Super moist and flavor packed.I used2 9 inch round pans and it turned out great.Everyone raved and that's what you want,right? Try this cake,you will not be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
After reading the reviews, I was excited to try this out for the fam. They all liked it however, it was not what I was expecting. It's definitely not your "average" carrot cake. It tasted more like a holiday fruit cake and it was very moist/sticky. I followed the directions to the T. I thought the pineapples were to keep the cake moist but didn't think I'd still taste much of it after baked. With all that said, it is still yummy. Just less like a traditional carrot cake which is what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this recipe years ago from a little old Italian lady I worked with named Maria Cassais. I lost the recipe, and tried today to replicate it from an old Alabama Junior League cookbook, and when it came out of the oven, I was so disappointed. So I checked and found Sam's Carrot Cake, which is the closest I can come to Maria's recipe. I mixed it up quickly, and left it in the oven the entire hour, afraid it would fall flat if I didn't. I just took it out, and it is GORGEOOUS. Texture perfect, Color perfect, Everything awesome. Im afraid to frost it, its so awesome looking. Cant wait to cut it and discover the taste. I used a foil 9 x 13 pan,(as it is a to go situation), placed on an airfilled cookie sheet, used regular milk in place of the buttermilk, and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Kitchen smells like an Italian Bakery. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I am a professional cake baker. This is the ONLY recipe I use, & I don't change a thing! I can't say enough times how AMAZING this carrot cake recipe is....super moist with just the right amount of spices. I have repeat customers because of this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing! Here is my cream cheese icing that compliments this recipe...it's simply amazing! 12 oz cream cheese (room temp), 4 t milk, 2 t vanilla extract, 2 sticks butter (room temp), 6 c sifted confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
As a long time carrot cake fan, this is by far the BEST one ever! The only change I made was omitting the walnuts in the cake, but crushed them up and sprinkled them on top as a garnish. Made it for my boyfriends birthday because it is his fav cake and he raved about it, and have requests to make for other people's birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This cake is awesome!!! It's moist, flavorful, and easy to make. I grated half the carrots super fine and the other half on a regular box grater which gave the cake a oranger color. I also used golden raisins because they are "plumper. ". Stirred ingredients together with a wooden spoon. That easy. Turned out perfect! Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States