Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
OMG!!! TY so much for posting your recipe!! my daughter loves it!!, and she would only eat samosa's from one dear friend who we dont get to see that much anymore!, so ty!! it brings a smile to her face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used another pastry I really liked and added potatoes and more spices, but this recipe is really a great idea on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Tun

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I was having my doubts about the dough mid way through making it. I ended up using more water to get the dough more "elastic" - I was reaching almost a full cup but then I just stopped and dealt with it as is, for fear up messing up the entire recipe. The meat (beef not lamb) cooked fine. Smelled even better. But when I had to add it to 4" "half circles" I laughed. No way that can be done is such a small tiny bit of space (not without taking an hour to assemble them/using all the dough called for). So I started making bigger circles, but half way through THAT I noticed that the "completed" ones sitting out waiting to be fried were oozing some liquid. They were not by any means full or stuffed. But the oiliness from the beef makings made the seals open. I tried to fix them but I made it worse. Next time someone might take the time to follow their own recipe and make sure the instructions are well written and yield good results. *I'm now going to try and find a recipe to use for that left over samosa beef*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Good recipe. I was not sure whether the recipe called for 1/4c water or 1/4 + up to 1/4, but I did the dough in the food processor and used over 1/2 cup. I only had enough dough for 16 samosas because the circles were too small to cut in half, so I made them in the shape of pierogies. I threw some finely diced potatoes in th the meat which was a nive touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
the dough worked out well. used another recipe for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Really awful dough recipe. Giving credit for the filling, although I didn't try it, and made my own. The dough recipe in any samosa is the most important component, as the fillings vary widely. Before posting recipe, author should test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
These were a lot of work and they didn't come out right. I'll update after giving it another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
It does take a bit of work, and my stuffing wasn't quite as good as I hoped. But the dough recipe was perfect! I think I would use larger circles of dough next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
You know, this was good, but not great. I did change a couple of things-- ground beef instead of lamb (don't like lamb) and I used pie crusts instead of making my own wrappers. I baked these like empanadas instead of frying them, but I don't think the outer shell was the problem. The filling just seemed like it lacked something. We ate it, but I don't know if I will make it again. Maybe it needs tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
very good flavor but they are a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States