Samoan Panikeke Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
LOVE this recipe! My husband is Samoan, and he loves it too. However, I tried making them like regular pancakes once (in a frying pan just coated with veg. oil) and they turned out AMAZING! Crispy on the outside, perfectly melt in your mouth in the middle. They are hard to flip, but if you can master that, they will be the best pancakes you've ever had! We serve them with melted butter, strawberries, and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I can't thank you enough for this recipe. My five year old grandson is allergic to milk products, eggs, corn and chicken. We live in a very rural community without the luxury of large supermarkets or health food stores. We have to be very careful with reading ingredients and substituting in recipes. Finding "treat" recipes for him that acutally taste good and don't have a weird texture has not been easy. So until I tried these, he had never had a doughnut. And these are terrific. Even his cousins who usually turn their noses at "Parker proof" treats, loved these sprinkled with a little powdered sugar. The second time I made them, we added a little cinnamon to the batter and they are like a banana bread donut. I plan on trying other fruits like applesauce and pumpkin in the future. Thank you so very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These are great! The first time I made them, I went exactly by the recipe, but I thought that they needed a little more banana flavor. I added a third banana in the second batch, and cut the water down a little bit. I didn't have any problem with them coming out raw. I followed the directions and made sure that the oil was approximately 350 degrees (I used a candy thermometer), and dropped the batter in by slightly less than 1/4 cup fulls. I cooked the first side for 3 minutes, turned them over, and cooked for 2 more minutes (I used a timer.) Some of the panikekes wanted to turn themselves over prematurely, so I had to hold them under the oil with tongs. I sprinkled these with confectioners sugar, and they came out perfect! They are also fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideshowoddity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have never made any sort of fried dough and found this recipe to try. It was amazingly easy and beyond delicious! I posted photos to my facebook of them and several ppl asked for the recipe based on looks alone! If they only knew how tasty it is!! You do not need 6 cups of oil. I used a large frying pan and filled it about half way...that was plenty...just flip them over when they appeared to be golden. I sprinkled mine with cinnamon sugar when they came out mmm TIP: don't cover them up until they have completely cooled! Otherwise, they just become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My family loved these. My mother didn't put banana in mine as a child, so this was a fun change! The banana flavor isn't overwhelming. Definitely don't make these a scant 1/4 cup, they will never cook in the middle before the outside burns. A TBS or scant TBS is better -- you'll get 35 to 40 almost golf-ball sized panikeke. That was too much for my family of 5, and they aren't as good the next day so I would keep that in mind and reduce your recipe if you need to. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were super yummy. Definitely drop the dough in smaller portions. They won't cook through otherwise. I used about a half a tablespoon of dough. They are ready to flip when the edges get hard, like a pancake. I didn't have any vanilla extract so I used almond. Make sure the oil temp is just below 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is delicious! Found it to be a bit time consuming but worth it! I waited to heat the oil once the dough was ready, next time I'll heat the oil while preparing the dough. I used a sauce pan with 6 cups of oil, but they kept sticking to the bottom. We just lifted them up gently and that was fine, but wondering if that is normal or if there is a way to prevent that! Thanks for the recipe! AWESOME flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I took the first one out of the deep fryer and had a Proustian moment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great, easy breakfast recipe when there's no milk in the house! Make sure to use less than 1/4 cup batter. When I used an exact 1/4 cup, or a scant 1/4 cup, it was still pretty gooey in the middle and that was after making sure that it was a darker golden brown all around. On the second try, I used maybe a little more than 1/8 cup and it was perfect. And I did make sure the oil was exactly 350 degrees with my candy/deep fryer thermometer. You could even make just a tbsp. at a time for little bite-size "doughnuts." mmmm. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
These are delicious. I opted to not deep fry them, and instead made them into a version of pancakes on the griddle. They are so good. They are quite sweet and could probably be made with less sugar. Will probably make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States