Samhain Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
In case you're wondering, Samhain (pronounced Sow-en) is a high holiday for Pagans and is known as Halloween to most everyone. As for the recipe, it rocks! Very moist and just really flavorful; I didn't have to tweak it at all. I took it to a potluck celebration and it went over very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very yummy! I read the other reviews and substituted brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white sugar called for. I also used some cranberry juice I had on hand in place of the water in the recipe, and added some dried cranberries to the nuts in the final step. The result was a wonderful sweet dense bread with a touch of tanginess. I didn't really taste the spices as much as I hoped to - next time I'll increase the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I LOVE this bread! Have made this several times now and it's been perfect every time. My only modification was skipping the cloves and adding more cinnamon, because I didn't have any cloves around. I found the recipe as written was just right for one 9x5 loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Bread is super moist, easy recipe that makes 2 loafs !! I didn't have allspice so used pumpkin spice & tried it with 1 C of white sugar 1/2 C dark brown sugar as suggested in a review. 100% delicious! A definate Keeper, Thank you for posting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Was easy to make and tastes delicious! I added one pear cubed and cooked it in a square baking dish. Pumpkin and pears from my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLemons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Stunning! The BEST! I added dried cranberries...it's lovely, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! My kids were all over this. I doubled the recipe for two gigantisaurus loaves. Perfect for Samhain, perfect for Yule also! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Just truly fantastic! Made the house smell wonderful, and the taste was terrific. Husband and two-year-old daughter loved it. Will definitely make this again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This bread is wonderful. I put half the batter into a loaf pan. To the other half, I added plumped golden raisins and made muffins. Now I have the perfect eat in the car breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyVendetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this pumpkin bread for a luncheon with my girlfriends. It was a hit! It was delicious and moist. And it was incredibly easy to make. I will be making this again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States