Sambusa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This recipe was great but I changed it up a bit to make it more flavorful. I omitted the salt and then added 2 Tbsp. of chicken broth powder! Added green onion instead of leek. Oh my.... so delicious! I make these and they dont stick around very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Allsup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Delicious! We used egg roll wrappers and fried the sambusas in a pan and they did great. We also added finely diced potatoes to the pan during the onion cooking stage and added one pound of meat instead of two. A little curry added to the spice mixture and it was heaven! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I didn't care for this much at all. They are a pain in the rear end to put together and the filling was very bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
very much,great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I really enjoyed these. I made them into triangles rather than cones and subbed wonton wrappers for spring roll wrappers (so no need for paste), but other than that left the recipe unchanged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I try different sambusa fromd different country, the one I like the most by far...Ethiopian sambusa it very flavor full and lot of spices and herbs. Somali and Kenya is more bold and you need some thing to dip in. I love Ethiopian sambusa specially I had at the farmers market in Issaquah farmers market sambusa wraps or sambusawraps.com . It is fresh and crunchy you dont even need diping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I felt it lacked flavor. The spices didn't add much and it tasted mainly like ground beef wrapped in a spring roll wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Oily, tasteless, and poor texture. This is not a review of the submitter, infact, it was given 2 stars instead of 0 because the reciepe was submitted well, just a poor product at the end of effort. Have had authentic somali sambusa, and these are not in the same neighborhood. Best bet would be to try another submission, and look for one that has some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Awesome! Loved the recipe. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are labor intensive, but delicious. Lots of cardamom flavor. You can make a version of these for many different cultures by changing the spices and substituting cabbage for the leek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States