Sambousa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband adores these! If too much time passes between making these he always asks me to make some. Substituted lamb tastes alot better than ground beef and some black seed really compliment these flavorful little appetizers. Thank you soo much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a very flavorful recipe especially served with a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
Wow I have been trying to learn how to make these tasty treats for years. They are great even with the kids. I really enjoyed these as well as my husband. I made them during the month of Muharram. Umm Asiyah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
A little time consuming, but easy, to make the pockets, well worth it...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
sambosa is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good. Daughter and I enjoyed making!! Her daddy is from Africa and when we were together these were commonly served at get togethers. She had them last weekend and asked if we could make them. thanks for the receipe. I would agree with the other's the meat is bland without adding additional spices/seasonings. I made the following adjustments on the first two batches (one beef, one turkey): - added seasonings WHILE cooking the meat. I've learned and fully believe the flavors can only be absorbed in the meat when added BEFORE it's cooked. - added a combination of other seasonings (cumin, beef or chicken boullion, ground ginger, ground mustard, celery seed, dash of chili powder, Lawrys, ground sage, sweet basil, snipped chives, parsley, garlic powder, onion powder). -Substituded the green onion w/ the snipped chives, as well as the green chili pepper w/ dash of chili powder. -used dried minced onions and garlic, along w/ the powders of each (avoid the "salts") -Used egg whites to help seal wrap openings. -Fried in shallow veggie oil, only 4 at a time, and placed on paper towels to absorb excess oil..layered paper towel as layer of sambousa's increased. Very Very Very good - both Ground Turkey and Ground Beef...cannot decided which was best. Made it again tonight to use up extra wraps. Daughter loved and enjoyed cooking. Left overs - frozen - baked in oven at ~350 degrees ~ 8 minutes each side makes them just as delicious again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Another suggestion for the flavor that reviewers would like is to add lemon juice to the finished sambousa as you eat it. This goes especially well with the cumin and lamb flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I use egg wash to seal it works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I added cumin seeds and some turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was indeed a very good basic recipe. Like other reviewers, however, I found the meat filling to be too bland. I tasted it before filling the triangles, and added some extra chili, garlic and cumin. (I did use lamb insteaf of beef) The directions on how to fold the triangles are not great; I found a video on youtube that showed it very well. All in all, the finished product was very good, though extremely labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States