Sambousa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I used most of this recipe but I did change a few things to make it more arabic. My husband is from Jordan so I made it like his mother does. I used lamb meat, added minced green pepper and ground cumin and garlic. This certainly make the dish more middle eastern in taste. And, word to the wise on the egg roll wrappers. It's best to either totally cool the meat before you put it in the egg roll wrappers or make only a couple at a time then fry them. They tend to really stick together and get wet if the mixture is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My husband and I both found this recipe to be rather bland. I also found it much easier to use the traditional egg roll shape rather than the triangle (easier to fold and less oil gets inside) and found that a beaten egg holds the seams much better than the flour and water mixture. If I do try this recipe again I will definately be adding more seasoning like cumin, parsley, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
It was fun to make, rolling them up took a lot of time and I had to double the paste for sealing. It has a very different flavor that I still can not decide if I liked it or not. Needed a little bit of salt added and we salted them just a touch after we fried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
The filling is right-on, but the egg roll wrappers were too thin and crispy to taste traditional to me. Sambousa I've had always has a thicker, more bread-like wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a very laborious dish but it was well worth it. To add that extra flavor that everyone wants, try smothering the rolls in a cumin sauce (made from cumin, black pepper, ground mustard, liquid cream cheese and milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very good, but needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
If you use egg roll wrappers I would first roll them out a bit so they are not so thick. Then cut fill and roll them. If you add a teaspoon of ground cumin they are terrific, and not so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
Wow I have been trying to learn how to make these tasty treats for years. They are great even with the kids. I really enjoyed these as well as my husband. I made them during the month of Muharram. Umm Asiyah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
sambosa is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
A little time consuming, but easy, to make the pockets, well worth it...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States