Sambousa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
Wow I have been trying to learn how to make these tasty treats for years. They are great even with the kids. I really enjoyed these as well as my husband. I made them during the month of Muharram. Umm Asiyah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
It was fun to make, rolling them up took a lot of time and I had to double the paste for sealing. It has a very different flavor that I still can not decide if I liked it or not. Needed a little bit of salt added and we salted them just a touch after we fried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
A little time consuming, but easy, to make the pockets, well worth it...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I made it with lamb and it was okay but kind of bland. I'd use spring roll pastry instead of egg roll to make it lighter if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
If you use egg roll wrappers I would first roll them out a bit so they are not so thick. Then cut fill and roll them. If you add a teaspoon of ground cumin they are terrific, and not so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a very flavorful recipe especially served with a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband adores these! If too much time passes between making these he always asks me to make some. Substituted lamb tastes alot better than ground beef and some black seed really compliment these flavorful little appetizers. Thank you soo much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My husband and I both found this recipe to be rather bland. I also found it much easier to use the traditional egg roll shape rather than the triangle (easier to fold and less oil gets inside) and found that a beaten egg holds the seams much better than the flour and water mixture. If I do try this recipe again I will definately be adding more seasoning like cumin, parsley, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I used most of this recipe but I did change a few things to make it more arabic. My husband is from Jordan so I made it like his mother does. I used lamb meat, added minced green pepper and ground cumin and garlic. This certainly make the dish more middle eastern in taste. And, word to the wise on the egg roll wrappers. It's best to either totally cool the meat before you put it in the egg roll wrappers or make only a couple at a time then fry them. They tend to really stick together and get wet if the mixture is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very good, but needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mexican Potato Nachos

See how to make hearty beef and bean nachos with a layer of potatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States