Sambousa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a very laborious dish but it was well worth it. To add that extra flavor that everyone wants, try smothering the rolls in a cumin sauce (made from cumin, black pepper, ground mustard, liquid cream cheese and milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Well, this wasn't very good. My grocery store did not have egg roll wrappers, so I tried using the filling for empanadas. It was pretty flat even though I added extra spices. Will not make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very good, but needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I used most of this recipe but I did change a few things to make it more arabic. My husband is from Jordan so I made it like his mother does. I used lamb meat, added minced green pepper and ground cumin and garlic. This certainly make the dish more middle eastern in taste. And, word to the wise on the egg roll wrappers. It's best to either totally cool the meat before you put it in the egg roll wrappers or make only a couple at a time then fry them. They tend to really stick together and get wet if the mixture is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My husband and I both found this recipe to be rather bland. I also found it much easier to use the traditional egg roll shape rather than the triangle (easier to fold and less oil gets inside) and found that a beaten egg holds the seams much better than the flour and water mixture. If I do try this recipe again I will definately be adding more seasoning like cumin, parsley, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband adores these! If too much time passes between making these he always asks me to make some. Substituted lamb tastes alot better than ground beef and some black seed really compliment these flavorful little appetizers. Thank you soo much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is a very flavorful recipe especially served with a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
If you use egg roll wrappers I would first roll them out a bit so they are not so thick. Then cut fill and roll them. If you add a teaspoon of ground cumin they are terrific, and not so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I made it with lamb and it was okay but kind of bland. I'd use spring roll pastry instead of egg roll to make it lighter if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
A little time consuming, but easy, to make the pockets, well worth it...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States