Sambousa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've been living in Saudi Arabia for a little while and Sambousa will only be the real one if it has got the arabic taste in it...Basically I make it by sauteeing the beef or lamb with garlic and onion, and mix it with parsley and dill. Season it with pepper and salt to suit your taste. Dill is basically the herb that gives Sambousa the middle eastern taste...you can pair it with vinegarette made of minced garlic, onion and a touch of chili pepper to add spice...Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good. Daughter and I enjoyed making!! Her daddy is from Africa and when we were together these were commonly served at get togethers. She had them last weekend and asked if we could make them. thanks for the receipe. I would agree with the other's the meat is bland without adding additional spices/seasonings. I made the following adjustments on the first two batches (one beef, one turkey): - added seasonings WHILE cooking the meat. I've learned and fully believe the flavors can only be absorbed in the meat when added BEFORE it's cooked. - added a combination of other seasonings (cumin, beef or chicken boullion, ground ginger, ground mustard, celery seed, dash of chili powder, Lawrys, ground sage, sweet basil, snipped chives, parsley, garlic powder, onion powder). -Substituded the green onion w/ the snipped chives, as well as the green chili pepper w/ dash of chili powder. -used dried minced onions and garlic, along w/ the powders of each (avoid the "salts") -Used egg whites to help seal wrap openings. -Fried in shallow veggie oil, only 4 at a time, and placed on paper towels to absorb excess oil..layered paper towel as layer of sambousa's increased. Very Very Very good - both Ground Turkey and Ground Beef...cannot decided which was best. Made it again tonight to use up extra wraps. Daughter loved and enjoyed cooking. Left overs - frozen - baked in oven at ~350 degrees ~ 8 minutes each side makes them just as delicious again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was indeed a very good basic recipe. Like other reviewers, however, I found the meat filling to be too bland. I tasted it before filling the triangles, and added some extra chili, garlic and cumin. (I did use lamb insteaf of beef) The directions on how to fold the triangles are not great; I found a video on youtube that showed it very well. All in all, the finished product was very good, though extremely labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I added cumin seeds and some turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I use egg wash to seal it works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Another suggestion for the flavor that reviewers would like is to add lemon juice to the finished sambousa as you eat it. This goes especially well with the cumin and lamb flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
sambosa is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I used the suggestion of others and added some chopped green pepper and cumin for a little extra flavor (especially since I don't like things too spicy so I left out the chile peppers). I also used lamb instead of beef, and rolled these like egg rolls instead of folding in triangles. They were really good, but I still think they needed more flavor. With some extra herbs I think these would definitely be a 5. So easy to make. I didn't have any problem getting my egg roll wraps to stay closed, and I used only water. I will make these again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
There seems to be a lot of people who who have altered the flavour of this recipe. I took that to note and only prepaired one triangle of Sambousa and tested the flavour before I continued with the rest of the parcels. I agree it did need more salt and was OK on its own however I did use a small handfull of fresh chopped parsley and mint. In addition, I added a package of OXO powdered beef bouillon and served these yummy parcels with hot mango chutney on the side for a small gathering. Great finger food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
The filling is right-on, but the egg roll wrappers were too thin and crispy to taste traditional to me. Sambousa I've had always has a thicker, more bread-like wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States