Salvadoran Salsa (Chimol) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We love a fresh tangy salsa... with summer and fresh radishes from the garden this is even better than when we made it this winter(radishes aren't so strong)The radishes give a unique hot flavor... thanks for a fun alternate version to a fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wonderful salsa! I make this according to the recipe (well, maybe an extra radish or two, depending on size). I just love it!! Very different and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
So simple, fresh and delicious!! It goes great on fish tacos, sea bass burgers or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Awsome best post ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I substitutes green jalapenos for the red pepper and it tasted a lot better. If you can handle the heat that is ;). Tastes great with a bar-b-q or with mixed with rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRENE8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I love this recipe...it's very light and refreshing. I usually omit the radishes and red pepper flakes. My girlfriend's husband is from El Salvador and her mother-in-law gave me the recipe but there were no radieshes or red pepper flakes. Oh well, to each their own. To me radishes are very potent. The longer the lemon juice blends with the tomato juice the more flavor you get. The cilantro adds the perfect zing. I usually put this on top of yellow rice although it can be used with chips. I have even eaten it w/o anything else, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
A friend of mine that I work with from El Salvador had given me a variation of this recipe. He didn't include the radishes or the pepper flakes. He added in 2 medium avacadoes cut into chunks and mixed in with the rest of the salsa. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Just like I remembered it. Perfect! A huge hit every time I have served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama in a Hurry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica53214
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent! I love the addition of radishes! The texture and flavor they add is incredible. It gets spicier the longer it sits, fyi so if you’re a heat wuss like me, you might want to keep an eye on the pepper flakes. I think using jalapeño or other fresh chilies in place of the flakes would make this a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Personally I felt this could use more than just 2 radishes (I shredded mine in to a fine grate, so that may have been why I felt that way). Otherwise, nice fresh flavor! It's almost completely gone after just one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States