Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I think this recipe can work, but it needs instructional revisions. As other reviewers have mentioned, you do need to let the sugar-butter mixture boil for at *least* three minutes to totally dissolve the sugar and combine the ingredients. Otherwise, your end result will be crystallized and chewy. Using greased aluminum foil is also really important. Finally, I found it crucial to completely line whatever pan you're using with the crackers. I tried to do a rectangular shape of crackers that was smaller than my actual pan; as a result, when I poured the hot toffee, it just shifted all of the crackers all over the place and looked terrible. I scrapped my batch, but I see it working well with a smaller pan completely lined with crackers, and with a well-cooked sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My husband of 5+ years declared this was the best dessert I've ever made. I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper and had no issues. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These were soooo yummy. After reading other reviews, I decided to make half with saltines and half with graham crackers. Both were good but the graham cracker version had a bit of an edge, so I'll make it that way from now on. A very pleasant surprise to an odd sounding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I tried this for Christmas and used butterscotch chips and chopped walnuts for the topping. Everyone went nuts over it. I also tried it the other day and used cinnamon chips. My next experiment will be peanut butter chips. Thanks so much for a great recipe......nunnysue....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
mmmmmm....and so easy...give me one of these easy and yummy recipes any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Not my best will try again. I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made these for Christmas....longest 3 minutes ever waiting for that stuff NOT to burn! They turned out great....topped them with almond slivers, as that's what I had. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These were great! I ended up making a whole bunch of them to give out as gifts. I ended up putting them in a tin with some homemade fudge as well (recipe also in here on Allrecipes). This definitely will be a go to for gifts for the holidays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Parchment paper or wax paper works great so the sticky toffee bits don't get stuck! Love this recipe. Easy and versatile you can change it up with layers and add different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States