Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly being sure to let the dark brown sugar and butter boil untouched once mixed. I waited the 3 min, poured over crackers, popped into preheated oven for 6 min and finished up with choc chips and chopped pecans. WOW these were great! And addictive so beware lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
FABULOUS AND OH SO EASY? I now use gram cracker instead of saltines as I prefer the taste. I also use light brown sugar as the recipe I first say had this listed. Be sure to bowl the butter and sugar until thick. I only bake 3-4 minutes or until the whole thing is bubbling. I love to add chopped pecans (pushing them into the chocolate slightly) This makes a great little gift as they store well. (holiday idea) D lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was so easy! One standard saltine package is perfect. I also melted my chocolate with a little milk first then dropped it on top and smoothed over toffee crackers with a spatula. My only variation was using crushed candy canes in place of the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I think this recipe can work, but it needs instructional revisions. As other reviewers have mentioned, you do need to let the sugar-butter mixture boil for at *least* three minutes to totally dissolve the sugar and combine the ingredients. Otherwise, your end result will be crystallized and chewy. Using greased aluminum foil is also really important. Finally, I found it crucial to completely line whatever pan you're using with the crackers. I tried to do a rectangular shape of crackers that was smaller than my actual pan; as a result, when I poured the hot toffee, it just shifted all of the crackers all over the place and looked terrible. I scrapped my batch, but I see it working well with a smaller pan completely lined with crackers, and with a well-cooked sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My husband of 5+ years declared this was the best dessert I've ever made. I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper and had no issues. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These were soooo yummy. After reading other reviews, I decided to make half with saltines and half with graham crackers. Both were good but the graham cracker version had a bit of an edge, so I'll make it that way from now on. A very pleasant surprise to an odd sounding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I tried this for Christmas and used butterscotch chips and chopped walnuts for the topping. Everyone went nuts over it. I also tried it the other day and used cinnamon chips. My next experiment will be peanut butter chips. Thanks so much for a great recipe......nunnysue....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
mmmmmm....and so easy...give me one of these easy and yummy recipes any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Not my best will try again. I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States