Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Use Graham crackers and top with a little sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow! I couldn't imagine saltine crackers making something that tastes this good! The bonus is that it is an inexpensive food gift you can give for the holidays. (I think I would prefer milk chocolate chips on this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Super easy and super delicious! I followed all of the suggestions from the other reviewers ... bring the butter/brown sugar to a boil and then allow to boil for 3 minutes without stirring, line the pan with foil (I used non-stick foil) and lightly spray with cooking spray, and put the pan back in the oven to melt the chocolate. The hardest part was resisting the temptation to stir the toffee mix!! I let the pan cool down for over an hour and then placed the pan in the refrigerator. Cutting the bars into uneven pieces was easy and clean up was a snap. I am bringing this cookie to work for a cookie exchange tomorrow ... I am sure they will be a hit with my co-workers! Next time I will try the crushed candy cane topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have to review this recipe again! I wish I could give it 20 stars!! I made this last night for a luncheon at work today. I made 2 batches of it. This treat was the ONLY one that was completely GONE by the end of the luncheon!! People were asking me left and right for the recipe. Be prepared if you take this somewhere.....bring several copies of the recipe with you!! Thank you for this incredibly tasty treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Such an easy desert.. And absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Ridiculously easy and pretty fast. I didn't line my cookie sheet as so many others have suggested -- I'm not sure why (maybe all the butter?), but I didn't have any problems with sticking. I did let them cool at room temperature for maybe an hour or so, and then put it in the fridge for a while -- made it much easier to break up and remove from the pan. I kind of smashed it with the back of a wooden spoon to make a crack, and then just broke into random pieces with my fingers. Gobbled up by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These are wonderfully delicious and very quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I just made these as I had ingredients on hand. Taste wonderful...I did not line the pan with foil and will do so next time. Also my chocolate chips did not melt...oven not hot enough or I did not leave in long enough. Think I panic when I saw the spill over in the oven. Thought I melt chocolate in double boiler and pour over then allow to cool. The brown sugar and butter is a memory of the Sees suckers we use to get in Cal. yum O! Easy and will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
What a great tasting recipe that's so easy to make. I did read the reviews and lined my jelly roll pan with foil and used cooking spray. One sleeve of saltines worked fine, any more and your toffee will be too thin. Toasted the pecans, used a 400 degree oven for 6 mins and when I boiled the dark brown sugar and butter I used a Thermapen® to check the temp at soft crack stage 270 - 290 degrees in order to take the guess work out of the boiling time. I will probably use milk chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as directed but did use more chocolate and nuts than what was recommended. Used a non-stick pan and hadn't any problem with sticking whatsoever as I didn't line the pan or spray it with anything. Turned out great, but if I did have one small issue, it was that some of the cracker/toffee separated from the chocolate when cutting. Not enough to cause a problem, but would have preferred it not. I did cool it entirely at room temp and did not put it in the refrigerator to cool. It was completely cooled when I cut the pieces. I loved it and my friends will be getting some to sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States