Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Wonderful candy/cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! You can add whatever you like on the top. I added peanuts, butterscotch chips, pretzels. Easy and everyone like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews prior to making these. I stirred the butter/sugar mixture and apparently I shouldn't have. Would be great if the directions stated DO NOT STIR. Otherwise I know these will turn out great. What happened to mine: the butter remained separate from the sugar, they never combined. So after the 3 minutes, and I poured the mixture over the crackers, first came the butter then the sugar in a gloppy mess. The butter was all pooled up around the crackers. I still went ahead and finished the recipe, and it tastes just ok. The crackers are so greasy from the butter. But I will make it again, and next time resist the urge to stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious! I have made something similar to this in the past, but never with DARK brown sugar...it really gave this a nice depth of flavor. This will look beautiful packaged in Christmas tins to give for small gifts. I will be making many more batches~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Letting mines cool now so excited to try these. Made toffee cookies from another recipe but that didn't come out right so hopefully this do because I made 2 batches!!!! Should have chopped my nuts up more but I used walnuts and pecans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I learned the hard way. Do not use butter that has been frozen. You will end up with a gritty mess. Also I heeded one reviewers advise to not stir it ever even when you first put in pan. Resist the temptation and it will t work out beautifully. It's so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
As my mom usually makes a version of these for holidays, I absolutely LOVE this type of cookie/candy/whatevertheheck category this addicting sweet falls under. As I had some time this afternoon, I embarked upon the task of recreating it myself, holidays-be-damned! So. I used the cheap, store-brand saltines (Stoppies, in my case, perfectly fine sub, and tasty in soup as well), semi-sweet chips, dark brown sugar, salted butter, and a disposable cookie sheet, sprayed with some, again, store-brand version of Pam. Save some money where you can. :) I followed the directions here and the tips. Most people said DO NOT STIR your butter/brown sugar deliciousness while it is bubbling about on the stove. I did take that to heart (even if I did want to stir!) and let it go, then poured it over my lovingly laid out crackers, then, yep, to the oven. Where, said delicious concoction overflowed my flimsy baking sheet and set off my smoke alarm. Small annoyance. Plinked the battery out of the smoke alarm. Shook my fist at the stove. Gah. Anyhow, all ended well. From oven, chips, spread, threw a few nuts about, fridge. Chewy, delicious goodness. My end product had a bit more "chew" to it than my Mom's does (hers is brittle), so I may not have cooked the toffee enough. I don't care though, its darn good!! Gonna share with my co-workers tomorrow. Everyone needs a pick-up on a Monday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrittyKitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was yummy. I do recommend putting it in the fridge to cool down or freezer for a quick cool down. I lined my pan with the foil- parchment paper. And it came off nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Tasted great the only thing I suggest if you decide to double layer, make sure you also add a bit of chocolate between the layers as the sugar and butter combo doesn't stick the crackers together and everything just flakes apart. It would have been just fine with one layer I thought it would make it a bit more of a "dessert bar" but one layer is enough. Very tasty none the less =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Fast and easy! Both good reasons to give 5 stars. Made as written with no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Siebens
Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States