Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is similar to one given me by a friend. She uses Graham Wafers instead of Saltines. I prefer Graham Wafers/Crackers - excellent option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this recipe so many times that our family calls it Christmas Crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made these as holiday gifts for my coworkers. One of them said "these are more addicting than crack". She's right. They are so yummy and oh so good. I used an 11x17 cookie sheet with sides and lined it with non stick aluminum foil. This was super easy. One important tip: mix the butter and brown sugar together until combined over low heat - then bring it up to a boil and DO NOT STIR IT!! No matter how badly you want to. Let it boil for 3 minutes and pour it over the crackers. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made these many many times over the last few years and they are SOOO good. My advice(I'm sure this has been said already!) make sure you use real butter! Margarine just won't work right, I found that out the hard way. Don't count your three minutes until it STARTS boiling. Don't use too big of a pan! I have a set of three cookie sheets and the middle one is the best by experience. Don't leave them in the oven too long!! I have scorched them and though they were still yummy, they had a distinct burnt flavor. There CAN be too much chocolate so stick with the two cups, don't be tempted to add too many. Ok, I think that's it, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Easy & Delish! Used baking sheet covered with foil & my Silpat pad, clean up easy. Did make a few changes. Have a similar recipe using matzo. The saltines I had were in smaller pkgs, wasn't sure how much 4oz were so I just covered the entire sheet with them, added 1t. vanilla & pinch of sea salt once off stove, only needed 1 lg cup chips, after they melted & spread, sprinkled roasted walnut pcs & sea salt over the top. If you like sweet & salty this is amazing. This is going to be part of my Holiday Gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this today and it turned out great. Since it's Christmas time we also did green and red sprinkles along with the pecans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Holland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe! So easy to make. When we have last minute plans to go to a friends house, I make this and everyone raves about it. Thought for Christmas I'd crunch up some candy canes and substitute those for the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Wonderful candy/cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! You can add whatever you like on the top. I added peanuts, butterscotch chips, pretzels. Easy and everyone like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews prior to making these. I stirred the butter/sugar mixture and apparently I shouldn't have. Would be great if the directions stated DO NOT STIR. Otherwise I know these will turn out great. What happened to mine: the butter remained separate from the sugar, they never combined. So after the 3 minutes, and I poured the mixture over the crackers, first came the butter then the sugar in a gloppy mess. The butter was all pooled up around the crackers. I still went ahead and finished the recipe, and it tastes just ok. The crackers are so greasy from the butter. But I will make it again, and next time resist the urge to stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States