Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I am begged to make these every year! Kids, neighbors, coworkers etc. I have read the reviews and have picked up some helpful tips. Here are my 2 cents.I use Heath Bar chips (instead of pecans) on mine and it takes it to another level. I make about 10 pans of this every Holiday. !. Must have non stick foil wrap. YES NON STICK KIND. 2. Use your timers! 3. Don't touch the butter and brown sugar mixture once it starts boiling. Boil for three minutes. 4. I use heath bar chips (located in baking aisle)Once the mixture comes out of the oven I sprinkle them over the bubbling mixture and then put back into the oven for 2 mins. 5. Then I take it out and sprinkle the semi sweet chocolate chips on it aprox. 1 cup. Let it sit on there for two minutes or so and when soft I spread it around. I used to put the chocolate chips on then put back into the oven and for some reason it makes them hard to spread. Just let the heat of mixture soften them. 6. Buy a silicone spatula. It does make a difference 7. Let it sit out for at least 30 mins before putting in fridge. This lets it absorb into the cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe - you would never guess there is a saltine in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This stuff should come with a warning label! It is highly addictive and incredibly delicious! It looks like you worked on it for hours but it's very easy to make. My husband can't keep his hand out of the jar where it's being stored! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great, fast recipe. However, I didn't have enough semisweet chips, so I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips for half the amount. These chips are much larger than regular chocolate chips, and they don't melt or even soften after 15 extra minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Use Graham crackers and top with a little sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow! I couldn't imagine saltine crackers making something that tastes this good! The bonus is that it is an inexpensive food gift you can give for the holidays. (I think I would prefer milk chocolate chips on this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Super easy and super delicious! I followed all of the suggestions from the other reviewers ... bring the butter/brown sugar to a boil and then allow to boil for 3 minutes without stirring, line the pan with foil (I used non-stick foil) and lightly spray with cooking spray, and put the pan back in the oven to melt the chocolate. The hardest part was resisting the temptation to stir the toffee mix!! I let the pan cool down for over an hour and then placed the pan in the refrigerator. Cutting the bars into uneven pieces was easy and clean up was a snap. I am bringing this cookie to work for a cookie exchange tomorrow ... I am sure they will be a hit with my co-workers! Next time I will try the crushed candy cane topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have to review this recipe again! I wish I could give it 20 stars!! I made this last night for a luncheon at work today. I made 2 batches of it. This treat was the ONLY one that was completely GONE by the end of the luncheon!! People were asking me left and right for the recipe. Be prepared if you take this somewhere.....bring several copies of the recipe with you!! Thank you for this incredibly tasty treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Such an easy desert.. And absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Ridiculously easy and pretty fast. I didn't line my cookie sheet as so many others have suggested -- I'm not sure why (maybe all the butter?), but I didn't have any problems with sticking. I did let them cool at room temperature for maybe an hour or so, and then put it in the fridge for a while -- made it much easier to break up and remove from the pan. I kind of smashed it with the back of a wooden spoon to make a crack, and then just broke into random pieces with my fingers. Gobbled up by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States