Saltimbocca alla Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was tasty, though I used too much fresh sage. Next time I won't put sage inside the chicken roll. I would use 1-1/2 slices of prosciutto next time. I put shredded mozzarella in the roll. I cooked the chicken in half butter and the remaining olive oil and garlic mixture. Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
We loved this recipe, although I guess I wouldn't be a good cook if I didn't change "SOMETHING". I added half & half to the sauce and I didn't have pruscutto so I used bacon. The family didn't know the difference. But we all loved the wine sauce and garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was great change of pace from the regular, "bland", chicken breast. I used "Italian" prosciutto from Costco. This recipe was very tasty and my wife said it was "fine dining" quality. I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
a lovely recipe but I don't think the picture is the right one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is a wonderful, very authentic version of veal saltimbocca, deserving of five stars. I am always amazed when reviewers completely change the recipe and then rate it low, as though they made it as described and it wasn't good. This recipe requires real prosciutto and is better with fresh sage, which can grow outdoors all year in most of the USA. Try it without loading it with cheese -- it's a delicate dish. Maybe a little Parmesan sprinkled on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
very good. I used fresh sage leaves instead of dried and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Of course, I tweaked it a bit by adding provolone cheese and topped with some sauteed baby portabella mushrooms. Very good dish but a little winey tasting. Husband liked the wine taste says it was a refreshing change. I would agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This was just lovely with a few minor changes I made the second time around. Flattened the chicken, seasoned and added prosciutto (this is classic, don't sub w/ ham) and then folded over once and pan seared in oil. Once brown but still raw inside, remove chicken & add the fresh sage to the pan, sort of frying it. Sage really comes out when you release those natural oil... no bitterness. Finish the sauce and THEN add the chicken back to simmer. Made some stuffing with this to go with the sage flavor. REALLY REALLY GREAT DINNER... I used to hate sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made this recipe for my family and we all really enjoyed it. FYI - I also tried it with chicken thighs but it came out too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Yummo! Even try it with pesto in instead of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisag2224

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States