Saltimbocca alla Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Not bad dish... the only thing I suggest is to go to a real Italian deli and get REAL procuitto!! Make sure it's imported from Italy (it will be saltier so cut down a little on the added salt). I've tried using both kinds (cheap and expensive procuitto) and it was definitely better with the good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is a wonderful, very authentic version of veal saltimbocca, deserving of five stars. I am always amazed when reviewers completely change the recipe and then rate it low, as though they made it as described and it wasn't good. This recipe requires real prosciutto and is better with fresh sage, which can grow outdoors all year in most of the USA. Try it without loading it with cheese -- it's a delicate dish. Maybe a little Parmesan sprinkled on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I LOVE this recipe. The flavors go so well together, and making it gave me great ideas on how to experiment with other dishes. The rolls look so pretty too, it is a good recipe for company. Thickly chop up some summer squash and zucchini, add them to the simmer towards the end, and then serve all with tri-colored pasta coated with extra virgin olive oil. YUM! Thank you Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This was delicious. I didn't roll the chicken, but instead placed the prosciutto on top of the chicken. That way I didn't have to worry about the roll coming undone, or the toothpicks. It turned out wonderful. I also added some fresh mozzarella on top. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This is an awesome recipe - very tasty. Everyone loved these. A single one of these is much more filling that what you would think. I used the same amount of ingredients called for, but spread it over 8 pieces of chicken. I doubled the wine/sauce - when I realized how good it was, I knew everyone would want extra. The key is having the chicken pounded very thin - I was able to roll these without toothpicks. Then I moved them to the pan and cooked them well on the bottom where the roll is seamed before turning - this ensured that they stayed together. After that, I was able to turn them onto the other sides to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was delicious! Listening to other reviews, I did not add any salt and I put provolone inside the rolls. I would make another recommendation, too. When the chicken is browned, I would remove it from the pan, use some of the wine to de-glaze, then add the cornstarch (I use flour) to make a roux to begin the sauce. Then add the rest of the wine and some chicken broth. Cook until the sauce starts to thin and return chicken to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is a VERY flavorful dish. (If you don't like salty, be sure not to add any salt, as the prosciutto is quite salty.) The resulting sauce was excellent over angel hair pasta. The sage really adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
Superb!! I tried not to roll the chicken and it worked perfectly. Also good with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe is delicious - especially with added mushrooms! I also changed a few things to cut down on the fat content. For 3 chicken breasts I mixed 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil with 1 Tablespoon minced garlic. I brushed this on both sides of the chicken then sprinkled both sides with black pepper - no salt (the prosciutto has enough salt). I then wrapped one piece of prosciutto around each chicken breasts - I didn't roll up the chicken. I pan fried the chicken in 2 tablespoons of butter until brown on both sides. I then removed the chicken from the pan, deglazed the pan with about half of the white wine, added one can of sliced mushrooms and cooked for a little then added the rest of the wine. I then put the chicken back in the pan, covered it and simmered until the chicken was done. To thicken the liquid I mixed 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch with 1 1/2 tsp cold water then added to the pan. I also added a little chicken broth to make more of the yummy gravy. Spoon the mushrooms and gravy over the chicken and it is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I would cut back on the salt next time, but otherwise this was a great dish. It makes for a beautiful plate as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States