Saltimbocca alla Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Used regular ham since I did not have prosciutto, also garlic powder instead of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bettysutherland
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Adore this recipe. I made a few adjustments (mom can't have alcohol) and used a cup of water instead. The chicken still came out tender and full of flavor. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I'm sorry, I didn't care for this at all. :( The key ingredient in traditional saltimbocca is FRESH sage. When I saw that this dish called for GROUND sage, I should have moved on. I regret that I didn't trust my gut on this one.... My husband makes FANTASTIC saltimbocca. He uses chicken cutlets that are about 1/4 in. thick, seasons them with s&p and tops with fresh sage / prosciutto (he uses toothpicks to hold both in place). He then browns EACH side in a little EVOO and removes the chicken to a (covered) plate while he prepares the sauce. His sauce is pretty much the same as Sue's EXCEPT that he starts with (reduced) chicken stock, adds white wine and deglazes the pan. A swirl of butter pulls it all together. My problem with this recipe is three-fold. First, medium-high heat will burn (yes, BURN!) your garlic! I used jarred minced garlic to brush my chicken with and had to turn the heat down pretty low to keep it from burning. Second, there's no need to cook your chicken for 15-20 minutes, especially thinly pounded breasts that have already been sauteed for 10 minutes (FYI, a thin cutlet will cook thru in UNDER 10 minutes)! And finally, both my hubs and I thought the ground sage was overpowering, not to mention unauthentic. If you must use it, do so sparingly. Pasta and WORSHIP WARRIOR'S Italian peas completed our meal. Maybe this will work for you, but it was a no go for us. Thanks anyways, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This was delicious and the sauce was amazing! Dh and my 3yo ate it up. I used about half of the amt of prosciutto due to cost. Other than that the recipe as written was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
lots of issues with this: the added salt is completely unnecessary. (also, it seems like a bunch of folks added cheese...if you're going to experiment, do yourself a favor and don't add cheese. this dish is delicate and elegant, slathering on cheese makes it something you'd get from a take-away pizza place or a diner). Also, the sauce: much better to simply deglaze the pan with wine, reduce, maybe add a few capers and that's it. It's just a pan sauce, not gravy - and certainly not meant as a sauce for your pasta side dish. i suggest you dispense with the cornstarch and go the more authentic route. Last: 10 minutes of simmering is way too much for chicken scallopine, which is what this uses. just a few minutes in the skillet will do it (if you leave the chicken flat, instead of rolling it up in the Roman style, it will take about a minute per side).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I rate this 4 because of the directions only. I think you should bake this in the oven to get the right result. Aside from that, my family could eat this dish on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragnhild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Easy and very tasty. The flavor of the sauce is wonderful. I had ham that I wanted to use up, but I cannot wait to try with good prosciutto. I did not roll up the chicken but left the pieces flat and placed the ham on top, then added a little mozzerella. The brown bits and sauce were the best! Served over a bed of pasta. DH asked me to add this to our list of regular favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is fabulous!!! for those that thought this was too salty, you should check your white wine. If you used "cooking wine" from the grocery store, I can see that it would be salty. Cooking wine is ok in very small quantities but it's very salty, so using 1 Cup would definately make this too salty. Try a white wine from the liquor store next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Creek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very nice recipe. My family liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It was okay, but not worth almost an hour's worth of work...not something I'd make again and looked nothing like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Ann
Home Town: Unionville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States