Saltfish Buljol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My husband and I really liked this. I added salt for taste to the veggie mix. I added more lemon juice and hot sauce for taste. I also served it in soft corn tortillas with the lettuce and avocado. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Very simple and easy recipe. It was very tasty also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLANDO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I'm also from Trinidad & Tobago (T&T) in the Caribbean. Yes indeed, growing up in the '60s, and even now in some homes, Sundays breakfasts usually consisted of 'Buojol' along with scrambled eggs, 'hops bread' or 'bake' (a fried flat bread or thick stovetop roasted flat bread) as well as a green salad, West Indian style. In my home and many others I visited, this dish was never cooked. The saltfish (salted cod to Americans) was soaked overnight, rinsed out twice before using, flaked, and combined with the other ingredients, all of which were fresh and raw, chopped, minced, or crushed--onions, garlic, tomatoes, sprig of thyme, some times fresh watercress in bite size pieces, (no lettuce), scotch bonnet pepper or bird pepper, a little crushed black pepper, slivers of green onives (chives), olive oil, and vinegar or freshly squeezed lemon juice. Avocados could be cubed and lightly tossed just before serving or on the side if preferred. Sliced hard boiled eggs were optional. The fish was the greatest quantity of ingredients balanced to one's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T and added only a little extra scotch bonnet sauce. Hubby likes it HOT! It is fabulous and so easy ...I've made it twice in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe....I'm from the Virgin Islands and have never made this dish but after seeing this recipe I tried it and it is perfect....the only thing I added was a scotch bonnet for more hot flavor...just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is very good recipe for salted fish. Ii is my first attempt at cooking salted fish and it turned out so good. The recipe may sound a little ordinary, but when you make this it is rich and fantastic. Be sure to use avocados and incorporate it into the sauce. This recipe would be good not only for breakfast, but for festive food too, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
this is a great recipe. My husband is from Jamaica and we cook something similar to this traditionally for breakfast (we do it for lunch and dinner too)but we add ackee to it . I add the saltfish in the pot when water is cold and boil it for about fourty five min. I also add whole green bananas, quartered long way medium potatos, cornmeal dumping and any other ground food (starch) on hand to the pot. Be careful not to over boil the pot because the salt fish water is a pain in the rear to clean. Meanwhile, I chop into small cubes whatever sweet peppers, cabbage, carrots, celery, tomato, onion, garlic, scallion, hot pepper i have to make the "gravy" if i use cabbage i usually grate it so it it is fine and cooks quick. You can experiment. Once chopped, heat high quality oil in frying pan about half a cup or more(i know it sounds like alot) until the oil is hot hot hot and the raw oil flavour is gone. Most important thing is to add enough oil in the beginning to have gravy at the end without having to add more oil. add a few sprigs of thyme and add the veggie mix and cook until soft - 15 min. Get salt fish out of boiling water and debone and shred and add to the veggies. Add some cracked black pepper. At this point you can add ackee fresh that are pre boiled or canned ackee that have been drained. if using canned ackee dont stir after added since the ackee will not hold its shape. Put green banana, potato, dumpling etc into a bowl and spoon the ackee and salt fish on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I had this once on a vacation, and have been making it every since. When I've bought all the salt cod from Whole Foods, I will use canned salmon. It's really a tasty alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a great recipe. I used green bell peppers and I didn't use any red pepper flakes. I cubed the avocado into the recipe instead of having it on the side. I also used a good quality extra virgin olive oil. I prefer my buljol chilled but I was so eager I ate it right away. When I had seconds a few hours later, it was even more flavorful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States