Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Yea! Chef John, once again you've managed to put one in the winner's circle, (sorry, horse racing is the only sports metaphor that I indulge in); it was sumptuous. I feel certain that you are married, but do you have a brother who cooks like you do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Making this sauce takes some concentration, but in the end, it's worth it! Sweet, thick, salty... It's perfect for an ice cream topping or even drizzled over the whipped cream on top of an iced coffee! The sauce should NOT by any means taste bitter. (If it is, you've cooked it too long.) Keep a close eye on it and make sure you don't let it get too dark. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I was so looking forward to this recipe and it turned out bitter and not at all pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Once the sugar melted it went really fast! Definitely less than the time on the recipe, but I caught it in time and it was great. Perfect amount for two small jars of sauce. Hostess gift for tonight, check!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Williams
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Amazing! I can't believe something I made tastes this delicious. I ruined the first batch because my enamel cast iron pot was bigger than the burner, and the sugar crystallized on the edges. I tried breaking it up with my spatula, but ended up with bits of silicone in the sauce. Moved to high-sided sauce pan and the second batch turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I burned the first batch by tryiing to match the deep molasses color in Chef John's video. The trick appears to be to watch for the wisps of smoke, not the color. If the sugar boils, it's toast. It will taste bitter and burned. Take it off the heat the second you see the vapor. The second time around it turned out terrific! I used it over pretzel brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
YUM! follow the directions, and you will have an awesome sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this caramel sauce to drizzle over a chocolate cake. I have never made caramel before and felt confident after watching Chef John's video several times. After the third botched attempt the fourth was the charm. First, I had too small of a pan. Use a large pan! The next two times I burned it. It went from a light amber to a burnt, smelly, dark amber mess in a matter of SECONDS. Adding the butter once the sugar is melted will increase the temp. and change a medium amber mixture to being burnt. My suggesting is completely ignore the suggested cooking time and go by the color. By the fourth attempt I pulled the caramel off of the heat when it was a light to med. amber color then added the butter. Then once the butter is melted I added in the cream and stirred until it was creamy. Super taste, but a bit stressful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time this morning. It didn't take very long for the sugar to turn to dark amber. It was still fairly bitter so I added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and that took care of the problem. I also added a little more salt that was called for - about 1/2 tsp (I like my salted caramel to taste a little bit salty). Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was good, but it's not necessary to stair the sugar until it begins to melt, save your arm some time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was perfect. To those who said it was bitter, perhaps you had sugar built up on the side of the pot or it was just cooked too long? I would use a pastry brush to brush any loose sugar that finds its way up the side back into the pot to prevent this. If you use a candy thermometer bring it to 345 (really 350, but -5 for carryover cooking) and remove it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 13Ingle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States