Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I burned the first batch by tryiing to match the deep molasses color in Chef John's video. The trick appears to be to watch for the wisps of smoke, not the color. If the sugar boils, it's toast. It will taste bitter and burned. Take it off the heat the second you see the vapor. The second time around it turned out terrific! I used it over pretzel brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
YUM! follow the directions, and you will have an awesome sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this caramel sauce to drizzle over a chocolate cake. I have never made caramel before and felt confident after watching Chef John's video several times. After the third botched attempt the fourth was the charm. First, I had too small of a pan. Use a large pan! The next two times I burned it. It went from a light amber to a burnt, smelly, dark amber mess in a matter of SECONDS. Adding the butter once the sugar is melted will increase the temp. and change a medium amber mixture to being burnt. My suggesting is completely ignore the suggested cooking time and go by the color. By the fourth attempt I pulled the caramel off of the heat when it was a light to med. amber color then added the butter. Then once the butter is melted I added in the cream and stirred until it was creamy. Super taste, but a bit stressful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time this morning. It didn't take very long for the sugar to turn to dark amber. It was still fairly bitter so I added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and that took care of the problem. I also added a little more salt that was called for - about 1/2 tsp (I like my salted caramel to taste a little bit salty). Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was good, but it's not necessary to stair the sugar until it begins to melt, save your arm some time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was perfect. To those who said it was bitter, perhaps you had sugar built up on the side of the pot or it was just cooked too long? I would use a pastry brush to brush any loose sugar that finds its way up the side back into the pot to prevent this. If you use a candy thermometer bring it to 345 (really 350, but -5 for carryover cooking) and remove it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I followed exactly as the video, although I probably could have cooked the sugar longer to a darker amber, but the smell of sugar possibably burning made me stop. To turned out wonderful. Easier then I anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I just made this recipe, it's the first time I've ever attempted a homemade caramel sauce. It's amazing how delicious it is considering how easy it was. Very rich, very buttery, and the perfect consistency. I glazed brown sugar banana-nut muffins with it, but I can't wait to try it on ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
my stove top must be hotter than the chef's...first batch...burned. It was the dark amber color like in the pic but was burnt sugar, bitter tasting. 2nd batch cooked lower and slower and it's lighter in color (aka not burned)but still has a slight bitter taste to it. Is it supposed to be bitter tasting? I've only had the store bought stuff so can't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very rich and buttery. I overcooked it the first time, so it was a little too dark, but second time turned out great. Its not quite sweet enough for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Needed some caramel for my ice cream. Very easy to do just copy the video. Very smooth and creamy good over ice cream and apples so far. I added a 1/2 tsp of Mexican vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States