Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Used for diy Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it. I've made this a dozen times since then cuz it's sooo addicting! I do add more salt to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I think the heavy cream is integral to this recipe; and I think it definitely has to be close to room temp. I tried this with milk from the fridge in its place and all of the ingredients were like NOPE in the pot, and even the butter slinked out and floated on top. It would still bubble but never got hot enough to re-incorporate. Now, this wasn't bad in the least, because I was making it to incorporate into a cake filling and no one could tell. I think my original strategy for the filling was a bit off, but for a lovely caramel custard just use milk instead of cream and nearly double the amount. Once you've taken it off the heat, just add in a whole egg and whisk whisk whisk! It should become a "pudding" in due course -- you may want to strain it to rescue some scrambled egg bits but then you have a lovely caramel custard for all your cake-filling needs. :D Happy accidents are the best! (I will definitely use this recipe as a base for that custard again. Also, I will give this another stab once I have cream.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I needed a caramel sauce quickly as company was on its way. Most recipes I found used brown sugar, but I wanted one with white sugar and whipping cream. This was so easy to make and was exactly what I was looking for - a perfect sauce for ice cream and to drizzle over cakes. Like others, it didn't take long for the sugar to turn amber after all the chunks dissolved - maybe even less than 30 seconds … although I did use a large sauce pan. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Total WOW factor! I made this for my son's wedding. I put it on carrot cake with Carmel whipping cream and drizzled it over the cake and whipped cream and it was fabulous. The only thing I did different was to use vanilla bean sea salt that I purchased at my local grocer. A total hit and I felt like a pro! Thanks Chef John for making me a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Amazing! I've made this many times now and I don't wait around for it to turn a darker shade of amber. That's because the first time I tried, I waited. And the sugar continued cooking after I removed it from heat and I got bitter caramel with the 30 seconds waiting. Usually by the time my sugar melts completely in my pan, it's a light amber. I kill the heat and grab the butter, and that 30 seconds seems enough to get it to the right state of caramelization. I guess different pans behave differently so watch the color carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This caramel sauce is easy and tastes amazing! I put it on top of my cheesecake with dark chocolate and it was to die for! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I could eat this all day long - nothing else needed! But it's great in coffee, over ice cream, you name it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! Although not as easy as I'd hoped. Like many others, my first batch burned - I didn't know that at first, but it did taste a little bitter. So I tried again, lower & slower. And Eventually I got the butter & cream incorporated - with NO bitter taste. (Yay, me!) So that's your clue - if it's bitter, you burned it. Sorry. Thanks, Chef John for making me get back on that horse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
turned out great for our caramel brulee cupcakes, though one word of advice is to be careful to add the butter while your melted sugar is still a clear amberish rather than a cloudy amber, I added mine just a hair to late and it had a slightly darker taste than I would have liked :/ all. in all though this was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Diamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Decidedly bitter. Added more vanilla and salt which helped somewhat, but don't think I will be including this in my gift baskets as planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States