Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is to die for! Definitely watch the video to get a better sense of colour etc as it's cooking, but this sauce seriously is delicious and goes with everything from fresh fruit to cheesecake. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I need Chef John to make this for me! Kind of freaked me out and the first batch I burned, so keep in mind how well your pot holds heat. I have a very heavy cast iron pot which I used both times. The first time I follwed instructions completley. The second time as soon as the sugar melted, and was still light in color, I moved to a different burner. Did not take long from there for the sugar to turn dark and smoke then I continued as directions say. I'm making a apple crisp cheesecake which I will use this on top of...If there is still some left come Thanksgiving day! Also, as someone who has never tried homemade caramel and am use to the bottle at the store kind. The flavor on this can't be compared. Don't expect the store, overly sweet stuff. This has a little bitter bite to it. I added about 1/2 tsp vanilla at the end to lighten that up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My go-to salted caramel recipe. After I make it, I pour it over a pan of chocolate brownies and let it get all gooey. My daughter asks for this every year for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
A fabulous recipe which made for a delicious caramel sauce! Pouring it over my homemade brownies I served it to my friends, the whole thing was gone within maybe 10 minutes, spending the last 5 purely eating the caramel sauce out of the pan. Will definitely be making this again as it vamped up my brownies from delicious to heavenly and was great on its own also! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesloorug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best. I whipped it up to drizzle over a boxed spice cake because I was too lazy to make it from scratch and it has to be one of the best toppings I've ever had. Chef John- no blasphemy! Its better than hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very nice caramel sauce, but a word of caution. Once you stop stirring, don't walk away from the stove, watch it VERY closely because mine turned dark amber within 30-45 seconds. Also, do use a larger pan (as Chef John recommends in his video) because when it starts to bubble, it climbs up the saucepan. I could tell from the smell of the smoke that it was well on its way to burning...but it didn't, thankfully. Will thicken up after refrigeration, giving you a beautiful, rich, and decadent caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
The flavor is so amazing (WATCH the video) for the ease in creating this sauce. It is exactly what I've been thinking of since Junior High Foods Class when we learned about the chemical changes taking place in cooking methods of certain foods. While my sons were board with my 'back in day' story, they were thrilled to enjoy this caramel sauce over sliced apples after school the other day. This sauce is so versatile! I froze some to make the kids Slo-Pokes for when they got home from school yesterday. Today, I am making some pretzels so that they can enjoy the caramel that way, as well. Oh, and with my 1/2cup of Birthday Bash ice cream last night, the caramel was the BEST part of the Bash. Yes, it is very tasty on apples, but I'm not one for limits in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The heavy saucepan is a must for this recipe. Follow this recipe exactly as the video instructs and you'll not be sorry. The finished sauce thickens nicely and goes great with apple slices or ice cream. The flavor reminds me of caramel corn from the beach. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
wow! it worked just like chef jon said! looked pretty scary at the bubbly stage, but the end result is amazing! i used a heavy cast iron skillet so i worried about burning the sauce since the pan gets so hot. i'm glad i did because the color is perfect and it was big enough to contain the bubbles. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My first time making caramel sauce. I had no idea it was so easy and the results so amazing. I followed the instructions in the video exactly and had excellent results. It took less than 30 seconds of boiling without stirring for my sauce to reach the desired color. Added salt to suit my taste since I'm always complaining about all these salted caramel things you buy that you can never tell are salted. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States