Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very nice caramel sauce, but a word of caution. Once you stop stirring, don't walk away from the stove, watch it VERY closely because mine turned dark amber within 30-45 seconds. Also, do use a larger pan (as Chef John recommends in his video) because when it starts to bubble, it climbs up the saucepan. I could tell from the smell of the smoke that it was well on its way to burning...but it didn't, thankfully. Will thicken up after refrigeration, giving you a beautiful, rich, and decadent caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The heavy saucepan is a must for this recipe. Follow this recipe exactly as the video instructs and you'll not be sorry. The finished sauce thickens nicely and goes great with apple slices or ice cream. The flavor reminds me of caramel corn from the beach. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My first time making caramel sauce. I had no idea it was so easy and the results so amazing. I followed the instructions in the video exactly and had excellent results. It took less than 30 seconds of boiling without stirring for my sauce to reach the desired color. Added salt to suit my taste since I'm always complaining about all these salted caramel things you buy that you can never tell are salted. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
The flavor is so amazing (WATCH the video) for the ease in creating this sauce. It is exactly what I've been thinking of since Junior High Foods Class when we learned about the chemical changes taking place in cooking methods of certain foods. While my sons were board with my 'back in day' story, they were thrilled to enjoy this caramel sauce over sliced apples after school the other day. This sauce is so versatile! I froze some to make the kids Slo-Pokes for when they got home from school yesterday. Today, I am making some pretzels so that they can enjoy the caramel that way, as well. Oh, and with my 1/2cup of Birthday Bash ice cream last night, the caramel was the BEST part of the Bash. Yes, it is very tasty on apples, but I'm not one for limits in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this caramel sauce over the holidays to use in or on two different recipes, one of which is the Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake recipe also from this site. I never knew that caramel sauce was so easy to make....the video is very helpful. I will never buy a jar caramel sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Photo by Leia
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I like this recipe a lot, though I had some initial trouble because it appears that my stove is hotter than that which the recipe creators is. I put this on medium high heat and I burned the caramel. I put it on Medium heat, and I got verrrrryyyy smokey caramel. Now I have it somewhere in between Medium and Medium Low and it's worked perfectly. Tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was so not thrilled with this recipe. Chef john makes it look really easy. But the flavor is not sweet and its a pain to make. It solidifyed to my spoons and whisk...it was everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time this morning. It didn't take very long for the sugar to turn to dark amber. It was still fairly bitter so I added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and that took care of the problem. I also added a little more salt that was called for - about 1/2 tsp (I like my salted caramel to taste a little bit salty). Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! Although not as easy as I'd hoped. Like many others, my first batch burned - I didn't know that at first, but it did taste a little bitter. So I tried again, lower & slower. And Eventually I got the butter & cream incorporated - with NO bitter taste. (Yay, me!) So that's your clue - if it's bitter, you burned it. Sorry. Thanks, Chef John for making me get back on that horse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Making this sauce takes some concentration, but in the end, it's worth it! Sweet, thick, salty... It's perfect for an ice cream topping or even drizzled over the whipped cream on top of an iced coffee! The sauce should NOT by any means taste bitter. (If it is, you've cooked it too long.) Keep a close eye on it and make sure you don't let it get too dark. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States