Salt Rising Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe. I had been looking for years for a salt rising bread recipe that turned out. My grandmother used to make this and there is no better bread than salt rising for making toast for breakfast. Thank you so much for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have yet to try this recipe but cannot wait! My Dad's sister, Aunt Mary used to make Salt Rising Bread & as kids, we loved it. Guessing it was probably passed down from my Grama. So happy that I finally have a recipe to try it out. Thanks, Vicki Guess I should have read how much work is involved...my Aunt was a farmers wife with plenty of work to do & heaven only knows how she found the time for this...but I will try it anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
first time I made this and it turned out great. Second time , not so great, don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this bread yesterday - was prompted by my Mother who was talking about my grandmother liking it so well. It was time consuming but turned out great! I used a small crock pot and put the starter in a pint mason jar and used the warm setting. For the next addition I was able to use a 2 quart mason jar. This step bubbled like mad and kept overflowing the jar! I used a large roasting pan with hot water in the stove for rising the bread in the pans. I only had one bread loaf pan so I used a small cast iron skillet for one loaf and a cake pan for the other- worked just fine! I did not need the entire baking time though (my oven gets pretty hot) did the 10 min. at 375 and then only 9 min at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I need some help. I tried to make the starter for the Salt Rising Bread using germ-in corn meal and our old Rival crock pot. Using a fluid thermometer I had from my home-brewed beer making days I kept track of the temp. It was steady at about 125 degrees Fahrenheit. Too hot evidently. No foam within 48 hours. Questions: How long should you cook the cornmeal, sugar, salt and milk combination. Mine was warm - not boiling. The sugar and salt dissolved. The corn meal didn't appear to change. Although I used a glass jar with a rubber ring and clamp down top, I didn't clamp the lid down. Should it be tightly covered or not covered at all? I gave up after 48 hours but how long can you keep going without needing a fresh batch of starter? Last question (for now). My oven's lowest temp is 170 degrees and my toaster's is 150. The crock pot on "Low" is 125 F (50 C) and not adjustable. We live in an all-electric home. No gas or propane. Our electric furnace/heat pump does not lend itself to this project. We don't own an electric skillet. We have a waffle maker?? What could I buy or use to maintain 100 degrees? Thanks, everyone, for taking the time to consider my plight. I really appreciate it! Let me hear from you. BFCore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My father has Alzheimer's and he was asking for this over and over again. Thank you for helping me find what he was looking for! He LOVED it, and I didn't think it was horrible to make. It was actually a nice challenge and I kind of became obsessed with it ;) It is delicious toasted with butter! Again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Many years ago (30+) I remember our bakers orders "salt rising yeast" from the yeast man. It made a delicious yet very "stinky" loaf of bread. I tired this recipe and was excellent! It brought back memories and though it was "stinky", when I toasted it and put butter on it, I was in heaven! Thank You for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BredPhd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This bread is ideal for toasting. It is fun to make and is something different. I have noticed that the flavor turns out different with different brands of corn meal. The first few batches were so strong smelling that I had to cut the sponge with extra water and flour to tone it down. With the corn meal that I have now, though, the flavor is spot-on and it is just perfect. I just wish I could remember which brand I bought. To make the starter, I heated the milk to about 110F or so, and put it in a glass jar with a loose fitting lid. I then warmed my oven (which has a pizza stone on the bottom) using only the light and a drug-store heating pad set on high as heat sources. This combination kept the oven interior at an even 104F. The starter was perfect and the resulting loaves rose within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S M Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe is the best! I have made salt rising bread for years using a potato/water mixture as a starter but the cornmeal/milk is much better. I use melted butter not shortening. On the second recipe I increased it by half with the same excellent results. I have a 100 deg proof setting on my oven that makes this bread easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! Works everytime. Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States