Salt Rising Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have yet to try this recipe but cannot wait! My Dad's sister, Aunt Mary used to make Salt Rising Bread & as kids, we loved it. Guessing it was probably passed down from my Grama. So happy that I finally have a recipe to try it out. Thanks, Vicki Guess I should have read how much work is involved...my Aunt was a farmers wife with plenty of work to do & heaven only knows how she found the time for this...but I will try it anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
first time I made this and it turned out great. Second time , not so great, don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this bread yesterday - was prompted by my Mother who was talking about my grandmother liking it so well. It was time consuming but turned out great! I used a small crock pot and put the starter in a pint mason jar and used the warm setting. For the next addition I was able to use a 2 quart mason jar. This step bubbled like mad and kept overflowing the jar! I used a large roasting pan with hot water in the stove for rising the bread in the pans. I only had one bread loaf pan so I used a small cast iron skillet for one loaf and a cake pan for the other- worked just fine! I did not need the entire baking time though (my oven gets pretty hot) did the 10 min. at 375 and then only 9 min at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I need some help. I tried to make the starter for the Salt Rising Bread using germ-in corn meal and our old Rival crock pot. Using a fluid thermometer I had from my home-brewed beer making days I kept track of the temp. It was steady at about 125 degrees Fahrenheit. Too hot evidently. No foam within 48 hours. Questions: How long should you cook the cornmeal, sugar, salt and milk combination. Mine was warm - not boiling. The sugar and salt dissolved. The corn meal didn't appear to change. Although I used a glass jar with a rubber ring and clamp down top, I didn't clamp the lid down. Should it be tightly covered or not covered at all? I gave up after 48 hours but how long can you keep going without needing a fresh batch of starter? Last question (for now). My oven's lowest temp is 170 degrees and my toaster's is 150. The crock pot on "Low" is 125 F (50 C) and not adjustable. We live in an all-electric home. No gas or propane. Our electric furnace/heat pump does not lend itself to this project. We don't own an electric skillet. We have a waffle maker?? What could I buy or use to maintain 100 degrees? Thanks, everyone, for taking the time to consider my plight. I really appreciate it! Let me hear from you. BFCore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My father has Alzheimer's and he was asking for this over and over again. Thank you for helping me find what he was looking for! He LOVED it, and I didn't think it was horrible to make. It was actually a nice challenge and I kind of became obsessed with it ;) It is delicious toasted with butter! Again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Many years ago (30+) I remember our bakers orders "salt rising yeast" from the yeast man. It made a delicious yet very "stinky" loaf of bread. I tired this recipe and was excellent! It brought back memories and though it was "stinky", when I toasted it and put butter on it, I was in heaven! Thank You for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BredPhd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Yesterday, I finished baking three loaves of this bread, and this morning I enjoyed some of the best toast I've had in years. This bread is ideal for toasting. I do admit to cheating a bit, though. I often don't have five-plus hours to baby-sit rising loaves, so I tossed in a half teaspoon of instant yeast as I was kneading it. The salt-rising flavor was still there, but it cut the rise times down significantly. Someday I'll try it without adding the yeast, but for routine use, I think its an acceptable compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S M Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe is the best! I have made salt rising bread for years using a potato/water mixture as a starter but the cornmeal/milk is much better. I use melted butter not shortening. On the second recipe I increased it by half with the same excellent results. I have a 100 deg proof setting on my oven that makes this bread easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! Works everytime. Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
If you had problems with this recipe a likely problem is that you could have used "degerminated" corn meal. That happens to be the only kind sold in my local grocery store so I have to go old school and grind actual dried corn for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States