Salt and Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this recipe last night and was thoroughly impressed! After reading previous reviews I added pepper and garlic to the marinade (and used red wine vinegar because that's all I had) and left bone in skin on chicken breasts marinating about 5 hours. I was so afraid during the day that I would be making pickled chicken but what a delicious recipe. I cooked the chicken on a rack and basted with the boiled marinade 3 times during cooking and the skin was crisp, the chicken very moist and tasty. Usually I find that whatever you do to chicken tastes good on the outside but the chicken under the skin just tastes boring and plain, but this was so juicy and flavorful (and not strong or vinegary at all). This is the best recipe I have ever used on this cut of chicken, and will be a staple in my house from now on. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is the best, always leave in it marinade ALL day, better flavor. We use it on drumsticks all the time (kid friendly)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My entire family loved this recipe! I use boneless chicken breast and have even used chicken strips for this recipe. It always comes out great!! Thanks so much for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I marinated the chicken overnight and it was so tender and juicy with a powerful but not overpowering tang. My friends were virtually unanimous in their praise for this one. DinnersReady indeed! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHBUM72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hewlett Harbor, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This recipe was soooo yummy! My husband and three kids all thought so too. They have already asked me to make this a regular. I marinated it for an hour but, I think I might try it a little longer next time, because we loved the flavor so much. I did turn on the broiler at the end to really crisp the skin. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I marinated the chicked overnight and cooked it on the grill in foil pan. Chicken was tender and juicy, tasted great!! My daughter wants her chicken only like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I love vinegar! This recipe was easy and so tasty. My husband isn't a fan of chicken thighs, so next time, I think I'll use chicken breasts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My family loves this recipe! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My hubby and I love apple cider vinegar to the point that he drinks it straight sometimes! I decided to look up some recipes and came across this one. I was never a big chicken baker but WOWWW!! I LOVE this recipe! I use to refuse to cook any sort of chicken still on the bone but this recipe made it so easy and it coooked perfectly! I use tinfoil over the top of it until 10 minutes before then I remove the tinfoil, sprinkle with a tiny bit of montreal seasoning. At the end, I pop it under the broiler for just a few seconds to make the tops crispy and good and its great! I always serve it over rice and use the extra marinated to make a quick super vinegarry gravey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I LOVE this recipe!!! I follow the directions exactly and it came out perfect! I also tried it another way, whereas I did everything as per the recipes directions but I also sprinkled italian seasoning on it. I usually cook it covered for the allotted time, then remove tinfoil, remove extra juice and put it under the broiler, sprinkle it with Tony Chacher's Creole Seasoning or Montreal seasoning and let it sit under the broiler till it's golden and crispy. It is DELICIOUS! I make this all the time and everyone loves it! My 8 year old says its her favorite dish! Goes great served with saffron rice. and if done right, you can use the marinade to make a gravy, needs to be diluted with chicken broth though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States