Salt and Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this recipe last night and was thoroughly impressed! After reading previous reviews I added pepper and garlic to the marinade (and used red wine vinegar because that's all I had) and left bone in skin on chicken breasts marinating about 5 hours. I was so afraid during the day that I would be making pickled chicken but what a delicious recipe. I cooked the chicken on a rack and basted with the boiled marinade 3 times during cooking and the skin was crisp, the chicken very moist and tasty. Usually I find that whatever you do to chicken tastes good on the outside but the chicken under the skin just tastes boring and plain, but this was so juicy and flavorful (and not strong or vinegary at all). This is the best recipe I have ever used on this cut of chicken, and will be a staple in my house from now on. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Hubby and kids absolutely LOVE salt and vinegar chips and because I thought this recipe sounded like such a kick, I decided to give it a whirl. It was great and not overpowering at all. I marinated for about two and a half hours but did not add the suggested marinade to my roasting pan. Actually, I put the chicken on a rack so it could crisp up all over and just basted every now and then. I also topped the chicken with my usual garlic and onion powders, salt and pepper and a bit of italian seasoning. Rave reviews "Dinnersready" and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I've made this dish several times. For me, marinading two days was the way to go. I also strongly prefer bone-in thighs for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! I read several negative reviews and I think too many people rely ONLY on teh cooks instructions and dont add personal touches of their own. Well, I made this last night for my fella and I. I used 1.5 cups apple cider vinegar and half cup italian dressing (as another suggested), used the 3 teaspoons salt BUT also added 1 teasppoon garlic salt. Also, used Emerill's poultry seasoning - 1 tablespoon. I used chicken breasts -- delicious. They didnt get crunchy but they were SOOOO moist and flavorful (I like vinegar). Marinated for 1.5 hours. And served over white rice where I could ladel some of the oven cooked marinade over. If you like vinegar, this is a keeper. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyDove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
After reading the reviews I was very intriged with this recipe. It didn't live up to my expecations. I marinated for two hours and I still found the chicken boring even after adding my own spices.(garlic and pepper). The reason that I even gave the recipe a three is because of the sauce or should I say the potential of the sauce. Instead of discarding the marinade I drained it and removed the oil from the top. then boiled it for a min to make sure it didn't still have bacteria because the chicken at this point is still not cooked. I added a couple of cups of chicken broth. Thickened it just slightly with flour. Grated 3 cloves of garlic and added it in along with a teaspoon of chocken stock mix. It turned out like a jus. I ended up tearing the chicken up and eating it with my rice and smothered with the sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My daughter loved this chicken! She said after her favorite lemon baked chicken - this is her favorite and she definitely wants me to make it again. Most of the time we have a recipe and move on to another version.... but I think this one will stick around for awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Turned out very good! I substituted red wine vinegar and olive oil because that's what I had on hand. Served it on rice and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I recommend that you only do half of the cider vinegar and half italian dressing and keep the rest the same. It still has a tang to it. If I used all cider vinegar I think it would have been too much. Overall it was tasty. (p.s. I added garlic powder and pepper like others)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is the best, always leave in it marinade ALL day, better flavor. We use it on drumsticks all the time (kid friendly)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this tonight and my boyfriend loved it. He was disappointed I didn't make more. Now I have a black eye. JK. But he did love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States