Salt and Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I marinated the chicken overnight and it was so tender and juicy with a powerful but not overpowering tang. My friends were virtually unanimous in their praise for this one. DinnersReady indeed! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHBUM72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hewlett Harbor, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was realy good, I only marinated it for about an hour and a half. The marinade smelled really tangy, so I thought that the chicken might be a bit too much, but it was very subtle. And the skin went nice and crunchy. Really good, although I might marinate a bit longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Great recipe! Needs to marinate for more thann one hour. Some pepper would jazz it up but otherwise a great, quick marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I marinated the dish overnight, but the flavor the chicken became too tangy, almost tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This recipe was soooo yummy! My husband and three kids all thought so too. They have already asked me to make this a regular. I marinated it for an hour but, I think I might try it a little longer next time, because we loved the flavor so much. I did turn on the broiler at the end to really crisp the skin. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Hubby and kids absolutely LOVE salt and vinegar chips and because I thought this recipe sounded like such a kick, I decided to give it a whirl. It was great and not overpowering at all. I marinated for about two and a half hours but did not add the suggested marinade to my roasting pan. Actually, I put the chicken on a rack so it could crisp up all over and just basted every now and then. I also topped the chicken with my usual garlic and onion powders, salt and pepper and a bit of italian seasoning. Rave reviews "Dinnersready" and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I marinated the chicked overnight and cooked it on the grill in foil pan. Chicken was tender and juicy, tasted great!! My daughter wants her chicken only like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
After reading the reviews I was very intriged with this recipe. It didn't live up to my expecations. I marinated for two hours and I still found the chicken boring even after adding my own spices.(garlic and pepper). The reason that I even gave the recipe a three is because of the sauce or should I say the potential of the sauce. Instead of discarding the marinade I drained it and removed the oil from the top. then boiled it for a min to make sure it didn't still have bacteria because the chicken at this point is still not cooked. I added a couple of cups of chicken broth. Thickened it just slightly with flour. Grated 3 cloves of garlic and added it in along with a teaspoon of chocken stock mix. It turned out like a jus. I ended up tearing the chicken up and eating it with my rice and smothered with the sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
my hubby loves salt and vinegar chips so I tried this... he HATED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I used malt vinegar and marinated the chicken overnight, but I think that the malt was too weak. Anyway this was fine, but nothing special. I may try again with another type of vinegar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States