Salt and Pepper Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
simple yet effective. I found this recipe to be a great base to work from. I added a tsp of cayenne pepper to my flour mixture which gave the squid a nice kick. I also made a chili garlic sauce that really made this dish a hit .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I had to give this a rating even though I failed to add the key ingredients because it still turned out so well. Due to grandma's inability to eat anything remotely spicy, I did not add the peppercorns or pepper. I fried the squid in a layer of vegetable oil in a pan, rather than deep frying it. My kids gobbled it up. I cut the juvenile squid into 1/2 inch rings, left the tentacles as is, and tossed the whole thing into the mix of cornstarch, flour, and salt, which was in a ziplock bag. After thoroughly shaking to coat everything, I poured the whole thing into a sieve and shook it until all the excess coating came off, sort of like panning for gold. Then I dumped the whole thing into the pan. I practically stir fried the squid, but the coating still stuck. Then I placed the oily rings between paper towels. The oil soaked up four layers of Bounty paper towels, even though it didn't look very greasy. I will definitely be making this again. Maybe it turned out so tender because the squid was so young--the bodies were no more than 5 inches long. I can't wait to cook this without Grandma around so I can add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
really enjoyed this simple yet effective recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was so easy -I also added some chilli flakes to give it an extra kick.It tasted just like our local chinese resturant here in Sydney - only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane.M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
A very good recipie. It should be recommended to calimari lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum. I've tried to duplicate salt & pepper squid from restaurants, but it was always too salty. This is perfect. I didn't have szechuan peppers, but used combination of black and red. Crunchy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious! I used squid rings that only had to be defrosted and rinsed. I didn't have Szechwan peppercorns so I substituted cayenne pepper. My family loved it and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
squid and pepper only but very deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I think I am doing something wrong. I am looking to duplicate the pepper salted squid served on Sandy Blvd in Portland Oregon (Thien Hong) I have moved to Texas so I can't ask them. I am using more mature squid but have a difficult time getting the crunchy texture and it certainly cooks longer than 30 secs! I have even tried a deep fryer. Adding about 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and serving with wilted green onions gets me closer to my desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good and how quick it was to make! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States