Salt and Pepper Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I had to give this a rating even though I failed to add the key ingredients because it still turned out so well. Due to grandma's inability to eat anything remotely spicy, I did not add the peppercorns or pepper. I fried the squid in a layer of vegetable oil in a pan, rather than deep frying it. My kids gobbled it up. I cut the juvenile squid into 1/2 inch rings, left the tentacles as is, and tossed the whole thing into the mix of cornstarch, flour, and salt, which was in a ziplock bag. After thoroughly shaking to coat everything, I poured the whole thing into a sieve and shook it until all the excess coating came off, sort of like panning for gold. Then I dumped the whole thing into the pan. I practically stir fried the squid, but the coating still stuck. Then I placed the oily rings between paper towels. The oil soaked up four layers of Bounty paper towels, even though it didn't look very greasy. I will definitely be making this again. Maybe it turned out so tender because the squid was so young--the bodies were no more than 5 inches long. I can't wait to cook this without Grandma around so I can add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
simple yet effective. I found this recipe to be a great base to work from. I added a tsp of cayenne pepper to my flour mixture which gave the squid a nice kick. I also made a chili garlic sauce that really made this dish a hit .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was so easy -I also added some chilli flakes to give it an extra kick.It tasted just like our local chinese resturant here in Sydney - only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane.M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
A very good recipie. It should be recommended to calimari lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I was very excited to make it because I love squid.....but all I could taste was cornstarch. I was curious why the recipe even called for it....just flour seasoned the way you like it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
squid and pepper only but very deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I found this dish to be ok, it didn't have enough flavour for my liking. Next time I will use half the amount of flour and double the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I think I am doing something wrong. I am looking to duplicate the pepper salted squid served on Sandy Blvd in Portland Oregon (Thien Hong) I have moved to Texas so I can't ask them. I am using more mature squid but have a difficult time getting the crunchy texture and it certainly cooks longer than 30 secs! I have even tried a deep fryer. Adding about 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and serving with wilted green onions gets me closer to my desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Quite good and easy. I didn't have time or energy to cook the salt and pepper beforehand so I just added them to flour and cornstarch uncooked and coated both squid and some shrimp. I lightly spread oil on hot pan and fried on each side for about 4 min instead of deep frying. Tasted really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I think this recipe is just alright. It wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States