Salt and Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have tried this recipe several times, although ever time I take a bite of it I always say I know this is running my blood pressure up,however, Ilove it. I did cut back on the salt and pepper, but after it simmered for the 2 hours, I added the chicken and the sauce to cooked spaghetti and also added some basil and a little olive oil, and it was delicous, try it you just might like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
I am sure it is delicious after 2 hours but I wouldnt have time. I will have to use some corn starch as thickening agent after cooking a few minutes sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
If you simmer it too long, the chicken dries out. It is a healthy main course, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Substitute chicken broth for the milk. Instead of 2 hours on the stove top cook uncovered in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes at 350 degrees. Remove the chicken from the pan and add 1 tsbp of flour or cornstarch to thicken the drippings. If you don't have much of the drippings left then add another 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Replace chicken in the sauce and cook on stove top for 5 minutes (just enough to cook flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
2 hours to long for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Low flavor and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnsWifey09
Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This did not turn out at all!! The milk curdled right away & stayed that way, I had to add country gravy mix to salvage it. After that it was still awful with milk curdles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
What a disaster. The milk curdled and I had to discard the chicken. Do not recommend this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States