Salsa Red Beans N Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was easy and tasteful after the addition of taco seasoning, otherwise it was fairly bland. Next time I will try using fresh salsa as suggested by some other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
5 stars for easy and quick. I used black beans because that's what I had, not fond of kidney beans. To suit my taste I had to add a few more seasonings. I used home made charred tomato salsa and also chopped up a fresh tomato to mix in with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Good tasting healthy dish. I took others advice and added a little cumin. I will make it again when I have left over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Quick recipe to put together if you have leftovers. I did use some kidney beans and some leftover black beans that I had. The flavors blended well. Thanks Diane for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Stashley
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was okay. Next time I am going to make it with home made salsa and different beans as I didn't like the odd taste of pre-made salsa and those beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vilma
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Mmmmmmm.... so good! This recipe was soo easy and sooo delicious!! I am always pleasantly surprised when recipe's turn out so good the first time I make them!! I will definitely make this receipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vilma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
My secret ingredient for this recipe is a dash of cumin & a dash of saigon cinnamon just as the oil is warming. Add the garlic when the cinnamon has a warm aroma. Thanks for putting your base recipe in a quick, easy to read format! This could be adapted with any favorite bean! My favorite is a Tri-Bean Blend of dark red kidney, pinto, and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurainbow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I found this recipe by searching for ingredients I had in my cupboard and wanted to use. It was so easy to make and has become one of my favorite rice recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I made a few small changes. I used two cans of kidney beans, a whole chopped onion, 1 1/2 cups of salsa and a bit of cumin. Instead of plain brown rice I used cooked brown rice with quinioa in it. If I am cooking two cups of rice I add 1/4 cup of quinoa and 4 cups water to the rice cooker. Just a little trick to bust the nutritional value that my family does not notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I tried this tonight for the first time and I used a few different things I had on hand. It turned out so good! First, I used home cooked black beans instead of kidney, pico de gallo instead of salsa, and substituted half the green pepper with red bell pepper. I used a bit of cumin powder. I didn't use any green or red onion, just a bit of regular yellow onion and there was a lot of onion in the pico de gallo. I topped it with a bit of cheese and some cilantro. The kids all loved it, even the ones who don't really like bell peppers! Next time I will make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States