Salsa Red Beans N Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was easy and tasteful after the addition of taco seasoning, otherwise it was fairly bland. Next time I will try using fresh salsa as suggested by some other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
5 stars for easy and quick. I used black beans because that's what I had, not fond of kidney beans. To suit my taste I had to add a few more seasonings. I used home made charred tomato salsa and also chopped up a fresh tomato to mix in with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Good tasting healthy dish. I took others advice and added a little cumin. I will make it again when I have left over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Quick recipe to put together if you have leftovers. I did use some kidney beans and some leftover black beans that I had. The flavors blended well. Thanks Diane for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Stashley
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was okay. Next time I am going to make it with home made salsa and different beans as I didn't like the odd taste of pre-made salsa and those beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vilma
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Mmmmmmm.... so good! This recipe was soo easy and sooo delicious!! I am always pleasantly surprised when recipe's turn out so good the first time I make them!! I will definitely make this receipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vilma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
My secret ingredient for this recipe is a dash of cumin & a dash of saigon cinnamon just as the oil is warming. Add the garlic when the cinnamon has a warm aroma. Thanks for putting your base recipe in a quick, easy to read format! This could be adapted with any favorite bean! My favorite is a Tri-Bean Blend of dark red kidney, pinto, and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurainbow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I found this recipe by searching for ingredients I had in my cupboard and wanted to use. It was so easy to make and has become one of my favorite rice recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I made a few small changes. I used two cans of kidney beans, a whole chopped onion, 1 1/2 cups of salsa and a bit of cumin. Instead of plain brown rice I used cooked brown rice with quinioa in it. If I am cooking two cups of rice I add 1/4 cup of quinoa and 4 cups water to the rice cooker. Just a little trick to bust the nutritional value that my family does not notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I tried this tonight for the first time and I used a few different things I had on hand. It turned out so good! First, I used home cooked black beans instead of kidney, pico de gallo instead of salsa, and substituted half the green pepper with red bell pepper. I used a bit of cumin powder. I didn't use any green or red onion, just a bit of regular yellow onion and there was a lot of onion in the pico de gallo. I topped it with a bit of cheese and some cilantro. The kids all loved it, even the ones who don't really like bell peppers! Next time I will make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States